It’s Just Stuff

28 Nov

I hope you all had fantastic Thanksgiving celebrations with your family!  I ate entirely too much food.  But I enjoyed every bite of it!

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

Were any of you as shocked as I was by some of the Black Friday headlines?

  • A Black Friday shopper at a California Walmart pepper sprays other customers so that she can get her hands on an Xbox.
  • Black Friday shoppers force their way into and loot a Hollister store in NY because it did not open when they thought it should.
  • A grandfather at another Walmart was thrown to the ground with such force by security personnel that he was bleeding and unconscious for 10 minutes.  All this because he stuck a video game in the front of his jacket to keep other shoppers from taking it out of his hands.
  • Black Friday shoppers at a Walmart nearly trample a woman to death in their rush to grab DVDs.
  • At another Walmart, shoppers tear into a pallet of $2 waffle makers before the wrap is even removed from the pallet.  Employees tried to stop them and eventually gave up.

What. In. The. World. ?????

It’s bad enough that we can’t even leave Thanksgiving in tact and stores start opening before midnight just to get a jump on the competition.  Here in Chattanooga, there were people camped out in front of Best Buy on Tuesday.  TUESDAY!  They didn’t even have a Thanksgiving celebration with family or friends because they were so focused on getting that $200 TV.  Wow.

It’s just stuff.

Hollister clothing, waffle makers, DVDs, and video games – these are not necessities.  They are WANTS.  Things we have convinced ourselves we have to have, but that we absolutely do not have to have.  And we certainly do not have to fight people for them.

Come on.

Black Friday used to be a fun way to kick off your holiday shopping, but it has really turned into a crazy free for all.  I just can’t stand the mad rush of people knocking others out of their path and elbowing their way to the pot of gold – a stupid DVD or video game or TV or DVD player or whatever it is that they have to have.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a great deal as much as the next person.  And I’m thrilled there were lots of people out shopping because my husband is in the retail business and more people shopping means more business for him.

I’m just not going to fight someone for a $2 waffle maker.

What do you think?  Were you out there at 4:00 am or even midnight trying to get some good deals?  Did you encounter any crazies where you were shopping?  Do tell!

♥ Rachel

5 Responses to “It’s Just Stuff”

  1. The Savvy Sister November 28, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    I wouldn’t worry too much about those reports as it applies to the majority of normal individuals. It’s Walmart…..nuff said.

    • rachturner November 28, 2011 at 8:25 am #

      Agreed! Although I know people who did the early morning shopping thing, I don’t know anyone who was so crazy for an item that they would fight someone for it. Yes, Walmart. Explains a lot. :)

  2. Sheila White November 28, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I used to love Black Friday. My daughters and I would leave out at 3:30 and shop for about 4 hours, head to Cracker Barrel for breakfast and then home to decorate for Christmas. Although I wasn’t able to go with the girls this year since I was out of town, I think I am done with Black Friday. It’s supposed to be fun, but it’s turned into a caotic mess.

    • rachturner November 28, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      I went up to the mall with Barry at 4:00 and traffic was easy. The crowds inside were manageable. The stores looked like they had been ransacked. Belk’s shoe department had shoes and thrown everywhere. In Penney’s, people just picked up clothes searching for the right size and threw them all over the place. It was a mess. I tend to do most of my shopping online – so much easier and no lines. :)

  3. Jim Fugate November 29, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    Good morning, Rachael: No, I did not get into the Black Friday mess. I have not heard of incidents happening here (West Virginia) that you mentioned occurred elsewhere. I don’t think our folks are immune from stampeding, etc, and if it happened I did not hear about it.

    The love of money is the root of all evil and it feeds such behavior.

    I enjoyed two great Thanksgiving dinners and both were with family or extended family.

    Looking forward to Christmas!

    Jim Fugate, West Virginia

Leave a Reply

