When You Don’t Feel Thankful

22 Nov

In this season of Thanksgiving, when everywhere you turn people are talking about giving thanks and being grateful – what do you do if you don’t feel thankful?  You probably don’t want to admit to anyone that you feel that way because we are supposed to be thankful in all circumstances, right?  You might even feel embarrassed to admit that this is how you feel.  But for many of us, being thankful right now might be a tall order.

I will readily admit that even though I am very thankful for so many things in my life, there are moments when I just don’t feel the gratitude.  In fact, there are days when I don’t want to feel thankful.  I want to be angry and feel sorry for myself.  I want to know why things are so hard right now and I don’t want to see the good that is all around me.

Maybe life has been difficult for you this year.  I can think of plenty of people in my life who are living through a very hard year.  I wouldn’t blame them for feeling less than grateful for their current circumstances.  Maybe things are not working out the way you hoped they would or maybe it seems that everything is going wrong.  Maybe your life just stinks right now.  Maybe there’s a black cloud hanging over your head and it’s been there for a while, so long in fact that you can’t remember what the sunshine looked like.

If this is you, and if you are not feeling particularly grateful this Thanksgiving, I hope you’ll read Andy Andrews’ blog post about a bad Thanksgiving.  Andy is a fantastic author who uses stories to get his point across and this story resonated with me.

A Fowl Day Ends with Thanksgiving by Andy Andrews.

I’m hoping today we can all find at least one thing (or maybe ten!) for which we are thankful.  I believe it’s true that the more we look for and see the bad in our lives, the more bad we will see.  Just as the more we look for and recognize the good in our lives, the more good things we will begin to notice.

I would love it if you would leave a comment here and tell me something for which you are thankful for this year.  It doesn’t have to be anything special – it could be as simple as the Diet Dr. Pepper you drink on your way to work each morning (and I am seriously thankful for that!).  :)

♥ Rachel

9 Responses to “When You Don’t Feel Thankful”

  1. Sheila White November 22, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    I am so thankful for many things. My salvation, my family, friends, job and health to name a few. I am truly blessed beyond measure. Although there may be times when I don’t particularly feel thankful and may not understand why things may happen in my life, I simply quote one of my favorite Bible verses, “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct thy path.” Proverbs 3:5-7. Simply trust Him!

    • rachturner November 22, 2011 at 8:25 am #

      Great list, Sheila! Thanks for sharing the verse – that’s such a great one for tough times.

  2. The Savvy Sister November 22, 2011 at 7:29 am #

    Too many to count!

    • rachturner November 22, 2011 at 8:26 am #

      I know, right? Hope you have a very special Thanksgiving with family and friends!

  3. rachturner November 22, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    I’m going to jump in with my 10 things: God & Jesus, my wonderful husband, my beautiful stepdaughters, my loving family, forever friends, new friends, a job I love, coworkers who make me laugh, my doctor and nurses at COHA, and improved chemotherapy drugs that make treatment not so terrible most days.

  4. Jim Fugate November 22, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Rachael:

    Thanks for the interesting take on being thankful or not.

    My Susie–wife of 43+ years–passed away April 23. Yes, there is emptiness here although she is out of the pain and suffering experienced for almost a year and stays in four hospitals. And I’m thankful that she is no longer having those misfortunes and is with the Lord and relatives, friends, etc., that have gone before. I’m not living in the past but am reminded daily of the humor, love and happiness she gave. No regrets.

    Have a good Thanksgiving and stay uplifting!

    Jim Fugate, West Virginia

    • rachturner November 28, 2011 at 8:53 am #

      Jim – I’m so sorry about your wife passing away this year. I can only imagine the loss you feel after sharing more than 43 years together. Hope your Thanksgiving was very special.

  5. Kathy November 22, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    No way, can I can limit mine to just 10 so I’ll do a summary. I’m simply and profoundly thankful that God is in control of my life because if He wasn’t there would be nothing to be thankful for. He provides me with everything I need. This includes you, my blessing of a sister!

    • rachturner November 28, 2011 at 8:53 am #

      K – I’m so thankful for YOU! Love you so very much!!

Leave a Reply

