Turning the Corner

10 Nov

When I woke up yesterday, I felt like I had turned a corner.  For the first time in a week, I didn’t feel that physical heaviness (fatigue) that I’d been carrying around for days.  AND for the first time in a week, I didn’t feel nauseas as soon as I got out of bed.  THAT was a victory!  Man, it feels good to feel good.  Good is relative, mind you.  I don’t feel like running a marathon or even walking up just six flights of stairs, but I feel good in comparison to recent days.

It also feels good to be pulling out from under the mental fog/funk that seems to set in right after chemo.  My brain feels like mashed potatoes for several days, making it hard to concentrate or focus on anything.  But thankfully, that tends to get better after the first week.

I saw the following over the weekend and loved the typographical design, but especially the words.

Source: Pinterest

It’s true.  Any change we want to see in the world has to begin with us.  It can’t happen any other way.  “The world” sounds so big and unchangeable, but it doesn’t have to be the entire physical world.  It could be your world – your family world, your work world, your city world, or something else much closer and more personal to you.  We can’t wish things would change or wish that others would change if we aren’t willing to change the things about ourselves that need to be changed first.  Besides that, wishing won’t make things happen.  Doing makes things happen.

One thing I tend to overlook is that I am in control of changing myself and my life.  I’m not on cruise-control (or at least I shouldn’t be if I want to see any form of growth in my life).  If there’s something in my life that I don’t like, it’s up to me to get rid of it, change it, or get a new attitude about it.  What’s truly challenging is that it is SO much easier to focus on the things I see in other people that I think need to be changed and not pay any attention to the areas of my own life that are in need of an adjustment.

Change is tough.  It could be a dropping a bad habit, starting an exercise routine, eating healthier, gossiping less, etc.  We usually don’t like it one bit and we are often overwhelmed by the enormity of the change that needs to be made.  But change almost always results in personal growth which is a good thing.

How do you go about implementing change in your life?  Do you set a big goal and jump right in or do you make little changes over time that become habits and new routines?

2 Responses to “Turning the Corner”

  1. Jim Fugate November 11, 2011 at 4:46 am #

    I appreciate so much being “in” on the changes you’ve gone through. You have such stamina and faith and God is rewarding that.

    Blessings and Prayers!

    Jim Fugate of West Virginia

    • rachturner November 11, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      Hi Jim! Thank YOU for your prayers and encouragement. It means so much to me.

Leave a Reply

