Made it Through Monday

8 Nov

Thank you all for your encouragement and sweet words yesterday.  They really did help me get through the day.  It wasn’t easy and there were a couple of moments when I wanted to go home and crawl in bed, but I made it through.  With this round, I’m experiencing more of what feels like the mild “flu like” symptoms that can be common side effects of Rituxan and Treanda: nausea, aches, chills, headache, etc.  At least they’re mild, right?  And at least I made it through the day – THAT is something to feel good about!

Now, to talk about something nice and not so yucky as chemo side effects.

We celebrated Fawn’s 25th birthday last Tuesday night.  Her birthday was actually Saturday, but I knew I would not feel like doing any celebrating (or cooking) on Saturday.  I made chicken & dumplings, mashed potatoes, mac & cheese and my mother-in-law made a scrumptious caramel apple pie.  The perfect birthday dinner – lots of starch & sugar and plenty of YUM!

By the way, I learned a new trick for shredding chicken that I HAVE to share with you.  This has changed my life.  Seriously.  I am the slowest manual chicken shredder in the world.  Well, maybe not the world, but in Tennessee for sure.

Ok, here’s what you do.  Boil the chicken as you normally would and while it’s still hot, place the chicken in the bowl of your Kitchenaid stand mixer (or whatever stand mixer you have).  Using the paddle attachment, turn it on medium for 10 – 20 seconds and you will have perfectly shredded chicken that looks just like this:

I’m not kidding!  It really works.  Amazing!  And such a time-saver.  Can anyone guess where I learned this little tip???  Yep.  Pinterest.

And yes, that is a box of Velveeta Mac & Cheese in the photo.  No, I did not make mac & cheese from scratch.  I made the dumplings from scratch and the mashed potatoes from scratch.  I have cancer, people!  Cut me some slack.  :)  ha ha

Here’s a few pics from the night:

♥ Rachel

2 Responses to “Made it Through Monday”

  1. Kathy November 8, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    I’m glad you were feeling well enough to do any cooking at all. I know you’re pushing yourself and I’m proud of you for doing what you can.

    This is way off the subject but check your e-mail for pics I just sent you and I think they’ll make you smile even if you don’t feel like it. Born just a few hours ago. Mama and baby are doing great. We’ve named him Snickerdoodle. He’s looks exactly like Bailey. Remember how you said you thought Bailey looked like a Snickerdoodle when he was born in January. I guess you could say we named a goat in your honor! Probably shouldn’t say anything else, huh!!!!! “Naaaaahhhhhh”

    • rachturner November 8, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

      Well, the dinner was the day before chemo, so I was feeling the best that I feel in a month. Saw the pics – HOW CUTE!!! You are so funny – “naaaahhhhh” :)

Leave a Reply

