Tough Weekend

7 Nov

Chemo #4 has been my toughest yet.  The fatigue is super strong – I feel like I’m dragging around heavy weights where my legs and arms used to be.  The worst effect has been the nausea.  Even with the meds, I’ve been walking that “I think I’m going to be sick” line for 3 days…without actually getting sick.  I should be grateful I’ve not actually gotten sick, but the hovering near it is about to drive me crazy.

Thankfully, sleep has been my friend.  I’ve been sleeping great at night and napping during the day.  That’s the only time I don’t feel queasy, so I’m really thankful for the ability to close my eyes and drift off into dreamland.

I’m hoping by the time you read this Monday morning that I will be waking up feeling a bit better.  That’s my goal, at least!  :)

Even though I don’t really feel like embracing anything at the moment, I’m trying to remind myself to embrace this journey.  I didn’t choose it, never would have, but it’s mine for the moment and I can’t change that.  What I can change is how I deal with it, how I let it affect me, and what I learn from it.

I thought this beautiful piece of art by Alissa Holland portrays this idea so very well:

Artist: Alissa Holland

Have a beautiful Monday.

♥ Rachel

6 Responses to “Tough Weekend”

  1. savvy sister November 7, 2011 at 7:59 am #

    I love this picture.
    I know you’ve probably tried everything, but ginger is great for nausea. Anything…ginger-ale, ginger candies, ginger soup. It might also help if you avoided raw foods and meats and ate soft, well cooked veggies as in soups and stews.
    Here’s a great soup recipe that has helped many friends going through chemo. Maybe you can ask a good friend or family to make it for you if you don’t feel like being in the kitchen. Hope it helps!
    http://sisterearthorganics.wordpress.com/2011/05/12/quick-easy-carrot-ginger-soup/

    • rachturner November 7, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

      That’s so funny because I got an email from my sister this morning suggesting ginger, too. I drank ginger ale last night and it did not help, actually made me feel a little worse. Weird. Avoiding raw foods is a good idea. Thanks for the recipe!

  2. Susan November 7, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    I don’t sleep that well, so the fatigue that comes on right after treatment is actually sometimes a nice relief as it allows me to sleep and sleep and sleep :) I can’t speak much to the nausea though, although I do find breaking my meals into smaller snacks throughout the day helps. I tend to get more queasy when there is a large meal in my stomach, or no food at all.

    Here’s hoping you’re feeling a little better today! xo

    • rachturner November 7, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

      I know, it’s strange, but I tend to feel less nauseous when I’m eating. But I don’t feel like eating until I start eating, if that makes any sense. I’m like you – can’t tolerate large meals at all and an empty stomach gives me the shakes.

  3. Kathy November 7, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    I love the art work you attached and I hope today has been better for you.

    On the funny side, you speak of “embracing” this experience, but I’d like to suggest that sometimes you might just want to “lightly touch” this experience with just the tip of one little finger instead of a full blown embrace!

    I want soooooo badly to take this awful feeling away from you and yet I’m fully aware that each of us has a “test”imony to live through. Just know that I pray for strength for you and Barry all day, every day. All my love.

    • rachturner November 8, 2011 at 8:23 am #

      Kathy – I know I would gladly take your grief and you would take this sickness, but these are the stories we’ve been given to tell – like it or not. I do truly believe that something good will come out of all of our struggles. We may not know it or see it for a very long time, if at all, but it will happen. I feel your prayers, they are holding me up. Love you!

Leave a Reply

