This Will Rock Your World

31 Oct

I’m not kidding.  Well, that is, if you like corn on the cob.  If you don’t like corn on the cob, it’s not going to rock your world.  Sorry.  :)

For me, the very worst part of fixing corn on the cob is shucking it and trying to remove the silks.  It drives me insane because I want to get every single tiny bit of silk off the corn before I cook it.  And that’s just impossible.  You can’t get every single, tiny bit of silk off an ear of corn.

Until now!

Have I got a treat for you.  Either that, or I’m really late to the game and you guys already know about this.  If you already knew this, don’t burst my bubble by telling me.

Barry’s Aunt Grace sent me an email with this video in it and this sweet little man has given me the tip of the decade!

If you don’t want to watch the video, here’s the scoop.  Take one ear of corn in the husk (don’t wash it, remove the husk/silks or anything) and place it in the microwave.  Cook on high for 4 minutes.  Using oven mitts, remove it from the microwave.  Cut off the bottom of the ear.  Grab the top of the husk and shake, shake, shake.  Out slides a perfectly clean and cooked ear of corn!

If you want to cook more than one ear, cook them for 4 minutes per ear.

It’s amazing! And the corn tastes great. I couldn’t believe it actually worked. :)

Now that we’ve gotten that earth shaking piece of information out of the way, onto other matters.

You know what this week is – Round 4.  On Wednesday, I’ll be doing the same ‘ole drill.  Labs, appointment with Dr. Daniel, and then a not-so-lovely date with an IV followed by a shorter date with the IV on Thursday.

There’s two ways to look at this.  It’s Round 4 which means I still have two more rounds to go after this.  Bummer.  However, it also means at the end of this week I will have completed 4 rounds and will be 66% of the way through treatment!  Woohoo!!!  That’s what I like to call progress.  :)

Happy Monday and Happy Halloween!  I hope your week gets started off beautifully!

♥ Rachel

2 Responses to “This Will Rock Your World”

  1. The Savvy Sister October 31, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    Great tip!
    Every minute that passes gets you closer to the end of chemo…It’s never to early to start planning your “EOC” party (end of chemo) I had a big cake with a zero on top.

    • rachturner November 1, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      I hadn’t thought about an EOC party, but that’s a great idea!

Leave a Reply

