171 Days

25 Oct

Well.

Today’s the big day.

At least I hope it’s the big day.

In a little while, I will get a few happy drugs and while I’m sleeping soundly, Dr. Young will take out the renal stent that has made me miserable for the past 171 days (or 4,100 hours or 246,000 minutes if you really want to get detailed about it – NOT that I’m counting or anything).  He will also do a cystoscopy and take a look at the inside of the kidney.  Depending on what he sees there and how the opening to the ureter looks, he will make a decision about whether to install another stent or leave it out.

If he does put another one in, I hope he’s prepared for me give him my mad bunny look when I wake up.

Source: Pinterest

That bunny just cracks me up!

I’m excited and nervous all at the same time.  I know if I wake up from surgery with a new stent in that it is for my own good, but it sure will be disappointing.

And if that happens, I’m going to do my best to remember that there is a reason for everything.  I will also try to fend off the disappointment with a little gratitude and thanksgiving because I have so, so, so, SO much to be thankful for:

a loving husband
an amazing family
sweet friends
intelligent doctors
compassionate nurses
health insurance
access to quality medical care
a powerful and mighty God
and much, much more.

I even have to be grateful that there are things like stents that (despite how annoying they can be) actually help my body function better.

I Thessalonians 5:18
In all things, give thanks.

I’m not making any promises, but I will try my best to give thanks.  Right after I get through pouting.  ha ha

I’ll let you know tomorrow how it goes. I’m hoping when I wake up that I will be as happy as this little guy:

Source: Pinterest

♥ Rachel

5 Responses to “171 Days”

  1. Becky Robinson October 25, 2011 at 6:10 am #

    Praying that stint will come out and you won’t have to get another one. Love you, Becky

    • rachturner October 26, 2011 at 9:20 am #

      And it did come out! Man, am I happy. :) Thanks so much for your prayers, Becky. Love you.

  2. Elizabeth Thomas October 25, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    While looking at my beautiful blackbird print by Rachel, I sent good vibes, thoughts, juju and prayers that you will make it through today. No matter if no stint or new one…the only thing that really matters is you. I hope that you have reached so far in your treatment that the stint comes out…but if it doesn’t, it is so that you can lick this cancer. I laughed at the bunny….around the office, when I’m in a bad mood I tell everyone that I’m an angry bunny. Hee. hee. Love you much my friend. Elizabeth

    • rachturner October 26, 2011 at 9:21 am #

      Love your perspective, Elizabeth! I was prepared for it to stay in. I’m practically giddy today without it. :) Love you, too!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh, Happy Day! « Blessings in Disguise - October 27, 2011

    […] so glad I didn’t have to give Dr. Young my mad bunny face.  I did threaten him with bodily harm if he put a new one in.  Wonder if that had an impact on […]

Leave a Reply

