Is it Hope or is it Worry?

24 Oct

We saw this McDonald’s commercial the other night and I thought it was so cute.  It’s about Happy Meals and how they help support the Ronald McDonald House (which is an organization I love!):

I love it when the little guy says “I don’t see any hope in here!” and then at the end he says “hope’s good!”  Cute commercial.

I’ve been thinking about hope the last few days mostly because I find my thoughts full of hope-based statements lately:

  • I hope that my body will continue to tolerate the chemotherapy well.
  • I hope that I won’t lose my hair (it’s thinned some, but thankfully I have super thick hair).
  • I hope that I won’t get too sick from any treatment.
  • I hope that I don’t have any complications from chemo like so many others do.
  • I hope that I don’t get sick or catch a cold during treatment.
  • I hope that the lymphoma responds well to the treatment and the cancer goes into remission.
  • I hope that nothing interferes with the treatment schedule so that I can be done by the end of the year.
  • I hope that the cancer stays in remission for a long, LONG time.
  • I hope that a cure for this form of lymphoma is found before it comes out of remission.

I hope, I hope, I hope.

We tend to hope for things that we can’t control, right?  If we had control over something, we would just do it – we wouldn’t have to hope it would happen.  So hope really comes into play when we feel helpless or when we feel like we cannot affect our circumstances.

As I was “hoping” for some of these things recently, I realized that there is actually a fine line between hope and worry.  Many of the things I’m hoping for can also become things that I worry about if I’m not careful.  And worry is useless.  It’s pointless.  It doesn’t change the circumstances and it actually can have a negative affect not only on my health, but also on my faith.

Source: Pinterest

Hope says, “I hope that I will eventually be cured of this cancer,” and there is an underlying belief that it will happen.

Worry says, “What if a cure for this cancer is never found?,” and there is an overarching doubt that I will be cured.

See the difference?

If I worry about things excessively, I’m in essence saying that I don’t believe God can or will answer my prayers.  If I hope for things, I am saying that I am placing my trust in God, His Word, and His promises.

I’m going to practice hoping more and worrying less this week.  How about you?

Psalm 31:24
Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the lord.

Psalm 39:7
My hope is in you.

Psalm 71:5
For you have been my hope, Sovereign lord, my confidence since my youth.

I hope you have a beautiful Monday!

♥ Rachel

Leave a Reply

