Diet Dr. Pepper & The Joy Thieves

17 Oct

The weekend was a really nice one.  I felt very good as far as energy and nausea go.  The only downside was that the stent had been “quiet” for a while, but it decided to let me know it was still around on Sunday and gave me fits all day.  I think it got a little excited about Auburn’s win Saturday night because that’s when it really started acting up.  ;)  No, what I really think is if I drink caffeine, it gets a little aggravated, so I try to drink just water.  But sometimes…you just gotta have a Diet Dr. Pepper.  You know what I mean?

It’s Monday (I know it’s a shock to some of us that it is already here!), and sometimes we need a little extra encouragement to get the week started off well.  Philippians 4 tells us to rejoice always – on the good and bad days (and even on Mondays) rejoice.  Some days, it’s a little easier to do than others, but we should at least try, right?


Philippians 4:4-9

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!

Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.


There’s a good possibility someone is going to try to steal your joy today.  They may not be doing it intentionally, but they may do it all the same.  It could be that guy who cuts you off in traffic or the person taking your order at the drive-thru who still can’t get your order right even after you’ve repeated it THREE times.  Or maybe it’s someone at the office who catches you the minute you walk through the door desperately needing your immediate assistance with something he or she should have taken care of on Friday.  Or what about the crossing guard who makes you sit there for (no lie) five, six, seven minutes letting all the other traffic go instead of your line.  Do you think I’m talking from experience here??  :)

There are a million big and little ways someone can steal your joy today, but don’t let them.  Remind yourself to focus on what is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, and admirable.  Letting a joy thief ruin your day gives them a victory they didn’t even know they were trying to win and robs you of a perfectly good day.  You deserve better than that.  Read the verses above over and over until they are solidly in your mind.  Then you will be able to recall them today and fight off that joy thief when he or she comes around.

If all else fails, go have a Diet Dr. Pepper.  That will get some happiness into your day!

True. Noble. Right. Pure. Lovely. Admirable.  You can do this!

I’d love to know some ways that you prevent people from stealing your joy?

2 Responses to “Diet Dr. Pepper & The Joy Thieves”

  1. Kathy October 18, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    I don’t try to prevent anyone from stealing my joy. If they do steal it, it might be that they needed it worse than I did. I would prefer that they keep it. I know I can come up with a new joy at any given moment and the new one might just might be better than the original joy I had. I know Rach, it’s the right-brain thing…but you did ask, huh!

    • rachturner October 18, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

      Actually, I was thinking two things: there goes her right-brain again and wow, that’s a dad explanation if I ever heard one. ha ha!

Leave a Reply

