Cancer-Free Friday: Peeves and Fritters

14 Oct

How’s that for a blog title: Peeves and Fritters.  I’m pretty sure it’s an original.  Can’t imagine anyone else wanting to use that for a title!  ha ha

For this week’s Cancer-Free Friday post, I’m wondering – should we talk about pet peeves (since it’s National Pet Peeve week) or apple fritters?

Hmm…..  I’m feeling indecisive, so how about both!

Pet Peeve

You know how people use the word “like” as a filler in sentences?  That’s my pet peeve.  Well, it’s one of them.  Some of you know me well enough to know that I have WAY more than one pet peeve.  ha ha

I’m going to call Sarah and, like, see if she wants to, like, maybe, go have lunch tomorrow. {“Like” and “maybe” are a deadly combination when used together.}

She bought flowers at Costco so that we could, like, arrange them for the party and, like, save a few bucks by doing it ourselves.

My idea for the website would be to, like, you know, make it better, or something. {It’s even worse when “like” is followed by “you know.”}

Drives…me…up…a…wall.  :)

What about you?  You know you have them, so speak up.  What are some of your pet peeves?

Apple Fritters

The weather’s turning cooler, there are huge, beautiful, shiny apples in all sorts of gorgeous colors in every grocery store and farmer’s market, and I have a sweet tooth about as big as my head.  So I made apple fritters for the first time the other day.  I thought they were pretty yummy and very easy to make.  Hear me again – they were E-A-S-Y to make.  I am ALL about easy recipes.  If it’s complicated, I’m not making it.  I don’t have the time or patience for complicated recipes.

I thought you guys might enjoy this one.  We can thank Betty Crocker for it.  Betty’s pretty awesome when it comes to things like this.

Let me just state for the record that I am a NOT professional food stylist, baker, or photographer (I’m sure that is painfully obvious by this photo – taken with my phone camera no less!  ha ha).  I just wanted to give you some idea as to what these little guys looked like when I made them.  If you want to see how they are supposed to look, go check them out on Betty’s site.

Here’s the recipe:

Apple Cinnamon Fritters

Vegetable oil for deep frying
2 cups Original Bisquick® mix
1/2 cup cold water
1 egg
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 large unpeeled Granny Smith apple, chopped (about 1 3/4 cups)
1/4 cup powdered sugar
  1. In deep fryer or 4-quart heavy saucepan, heat oil to 350°F.
  2. In large bowl, stir Bisquick mix, water, egg, granulated sugar and cinnamon. Fold in apple. Working in batches, drop batter by tablespoonfuls into hot oil. Cook 2 to 3 minutes, turning occasionally, or until golden brown. Use a metal slotted spoon to remove fritters from oil; drain on paper towels.
  3. Before serving, sprinkle fritters with powdered sugar.
Makes 22 fritters.
Click here to print this recipe from BettyCrocker.com.

Hope you have a wonderful weekend!  I will try my best to do the same.

6 Responses to “Cancer-Free Friday: Peeves and Fritters”

  1. Diana October 14, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Rachel made these for us the day we moved in across the street. That was so sweet of her! The fritters were WONDERFUL! Thanks again, Rachel!

    • rachturner October 15, 2011 at 11:17 am #

      You are so welcome, Dianai! :)

  2. Kathy October 14, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    So that’s how you make all this stuff and never gain any weight…you give it all away (like Diana mentioned above) haha!

    Not too many pet peeves, I try to be understanding of the various backgrounds we all come from but my one biggy is people talking mindlessly on cell phones while they are driving their “killing machines” disquised as cars. They are oblivious to the world around them, ususally in the left lane and backing up traffic something fierce and they literally have no clue that they are behind a wheel. They couldn’t tell you if the last traffic light they passed under was red or green. You know the ones I’m talking about, we’ve all seen them. I’m sure plenty of people have been injured and/or killed because these inconsiderate individuals contributed to circumstances causing serious accidents (but because they weren’t hit they never even knew they caused it). It’s an extremely irresponsible and dangerous thing to do, but these people seem to think they are in complete control when they’re really brain dead and don”t realize it. Kind of like drinking and driving, but since that’s illegal I try to leave that to our good friends on the police force. I guess this is where my automobile underwriting background raises it’s head, huh!

    • rachturner October 15, 2011 at 11:19 am #

      Gotcha going, didn’t I?? I know the people you are talking about. They are always in the left lane, driving 10 miles slower than anyone else. Frustrating.

  3. Jennifer October 14, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    You just had to ask Kathy for a pet peeve, didn’t you?!?!?

    Saw this quote on Pinterest (a previous Cancer Free Friday’s post) – I don’t have pet peeves – I have whole kernels of irritation.

    Jennifer

    • rachturner October 15, 2011 at 11:19 am #

      I couldn’t help it. :) Whole kernels of irritation – love that!

Leave a Reply

