Humming Right Along

13 Oct

I caught myself doing something yesterday. I didn’t even realize I was doing it at first.

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

As I walked to my car at lunch to go run an errand I noticed it.

I was humming.

And that’s when I knew I was truly starting to feel better.  I was turning the corner from yucky to better-than-yucky.

I don’t even remember what I was humming, but that’s not the important part.  What’s important is that I was humming!  This may seem so silly to some, but to me it was a very good sign.

I hum (and sing) when I feel good – or in this case, when I feel better.  I certainly don’t do it when I feel bad.  I don’t sing, I don’t hum, and I barely talk when I’m feeling really awful – takes too much effort.  I hum subconsciously, not even noticing it most of the time.  Poor Barry catches me humming a lot.  Especially in places like Lowes where other people could hear me.  Drives him crazy.  :)

I think I get the humming thing from my dad.  He hums a lot.  Seriously.  He always humming something and, whether he is or not, I associate his humming with his being happy – or at least content.  It’s a comforting sound.

Now don’t get me wrong, I didn’t feel great, all-better, nothing’s-wrong-with-me-anymore-good – but I feel better – and that’s the key.  I was still very tired and had a busy day that drained me pretty good, but I didn’t feel queasy very much and THAT was a blessing!  It’s all relative these days and as long as I feel better than the previous day, I consider it a success!

Is there anything you do when you are happy (or even sad) that you sometimes don’t realize you are doing?  Spill it!  I want to know your little quirks.

4 Responses to “Humming Right Along”

  1. Gayle October 13, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    Rachel … found myself doing the same thing yesterday afternoon and it surprised me and made me stop, smile and say “huummm”. Glad you are feeling better. Your comments today bring to mind the old Bill and Glolria Gaither song “God Gave the Song”. Guess I am going to have to look up the lyrics! :o} Have a blessed day.

    • rachturner October 13, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

      That’s great!! So glad you were humming yesterday. :) Hope you have a great day!!

  2. Kathy October 13, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    Like you, I really do enjoy humming and I must hum a lot more than I realize because people at work make comments to me about a certain song and I don’t even realize I’m humming it. Dad has hummed as far back as I can remember, which is a full decade longer than you can remember, haha. When I was small I remember that I would sit in Dad”s lap in the rocking chair and put my ear to his chest just to listen to him hum. Soothing.

    On mucky weather days Matt, Ashley and I all hum (a different song each), make very goofy noises intermittently and listen to Pandora at the same time, while we work on a jigsaw puzzle at the kitchen table. We don’t let too many people hear us doing all of this.

    Note: I think Jenn must do her craft work in the “very quiet” mode because I ’bout drove her nuts when she was here in August. She was painting and I was working on an altered book. I couldn’t help myself from making random noises and humming…but I sure could “feel” her look my way when I was interfering with her thought process! No sooner would I hush than I would start again without me even thinking about it. Mom was watching and thought it was hilarious.

    I’m tickled that you’ve got “your hum on” again.

    • rachturner October 15, 2011 at 11:23 am #

      I don’t think she’s a fan of unnecessary noises. I have my limits – I can take it for a while and am pretty good at tuning things out, but some noises are just too distracting. I think you and Dad work better when you are making a noise – it helps you concentrate or something.

Leave a Reply

