Rainy Days Make Me Think of Peru

12 Oct

Felt better Tuesday than Monday, but still pretty doggone tired.  Had some chills and achiness on Tuesday, too.  I go for labs Wednesday morning, so we’ll see how my blood counts look and if they are contributing to the fatigue and yuckiness.  I don’t think any of this is out of the ordinary, just something to expect from chemo.

The opposite of poverty is not wealth.
The opposite of poverty is enough.
Wes Stafford

I’m listening to it right rain right now.  I love rainy days.  I really do.  As long as they don’t last for weeks and weeks at a time.  Then I get tired of rainy days.  I’m a little picky like that.  I want the rain, but on my terms.  :)

I especially love heavy rains, the kind that make you want to crawl back into bed and take a nap or curl up on the couch with a good book (which eventually leads to a nap!).  {Note: You may discover if you read this blog for very long that I have an affinity for naps, or just sleep, in general.  I think it’s genetic.  My mom and sisters are exactly the same way.  At least we recognize our weaknesses!  ha ha }

I love feeling safe inside my home while the rains come down and wash away the dirt and dust of the previous days or weeks.  I trust that baring a severe storm or tornado, my home will survive the storm and the roof will keep me dry.

Whenever it rains in Chattanooga, I can’t help but wonder if it’s also raining in Peru.  Peru is where Jacqueline lives.  When it rains in Peru, the roof of her home probably leaks a little and the floor becomes muddy.  Her drinking water becomes contaminated as rainwater runs over garbage in the streets.  She doesn’t have a Brita water filter in her refrigerator.  I’m not even sure she has a refrigerator – certainly not like anything we have.  So when it rains, I wonder what she’s experiencing.

I doubt that she loves the rain as much as I do.  When it rains in her hometown, she may not feel safe and secure inside her home because the walls and ceilings are not as sturdy as mine here.  The dirt floors quickly turn to mud and what was reasonably clean before may now turn into muck and mire.  Instead of curling up with a book on the couch, she may have to scoop and bail water out of her home to keep her family’s few possessions from ruining.

When my local news warns of flooding rains, I rarely pay it much attention.  I know that my home, office, and my car will usually keep me safe, and I also know what areas to avoid if the rain is going to be particularly heavy.  When the news in Peru warns of flooding rains, I wonder if Jacqueline can experience that same feeling of security that I have.  I doubt it.

Who is Jacqueline?  She is one of the Compassion children that Barry and I sponsor.  I don’t really care for the word “sponsor.”  It sounds so pious and noble and I don’t think what we do is anything like that.  I like to think that we’ve sort of adopted her for a little while and she’s allowing us to be a part of her family for a while.  We feel obligated to do this because of how much God has blessed us.

When someone has been given much,
much will be required in return;
and when someone has been
entrusted with much,
even more will be required.
Luke 12:48

We also sponsor Johan, Maria, and Joselyn who live in Columbia, Nicaragua, and Ecuador, respectively.  I think about them on rainy days, too, and wonder if they are safe and dry knowing that their living conditions are very similar to Jacqueline’s.

Thanks to the work that Compassion does with these children, I know they will spend a part of their day in a safe, dry place, even if it’s not the whole day.  I know they will have something warm and good to eat.  And I know that they will learn something that will help them grow smarter as children and grow closer to God.

To “sponsor” a child with Compassion means that you make a financial commitment of $38 a month. This money is used to provide food, education, and Biblical training, among many other things, for children who might not get those things any other way.  We also write letters back and forth.  They draw pictures for us and we send them photos of our family, they tell us about their holidays and traditions and we share about ours.  They pray for us, and us for them.  Did you catch that?  They pray for us.  That just floors me.  Every time I get a letter from one of them saying they are praying for our family, it humbles me in the most profound way.

If you feel so inclined, I would love it if you would hop over to Compassion’s site and check out all that they do for so many children around the world.  Who knows?  Maybe you’ll see a precious little face who could take up residence in your heart.

Sponsor a Child in Jesus Name with Compassion

2 Responses to “Rainy Days Make Me Think of Peru”

  1. Kathy October 12, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    I love it when the things you say give me pause to think deep, really deep. It’s kind of like hitting the reset button on the things going on in our daily lives. It’s interesting that you used Luke 12:48 because there hasn’t been even one single day since Phil died that I haven’t meditated on that scripture over and over. It reminds me of just how blessed I still am and how I have an obligation to remember that and keep a spirit of thankfulness in my heart. Thanks for being the compassionate example you are. I love you.

    • rachturner October 13, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

      You amaze me, Kathy. To have gone through what you have and still be able to recognize the need to be thankful for how you have been blessed is incredible. It’s not easy to do, and I am SO proud of you for how you are taking a horrible situation and growing and learning from it. You are the inspiring one.

Leave a Reply

