The Strangest Part

11 Oct

I think I’m starting to come out from under the cloud of ickiness.  It’s interesting that this is my third time receiving chemotherapy, and the intensity and timing of the side effects has been different each time.  The first time was definitely the most difficult so far.  I think the drugs were such a shock to my system that my body didn’t know what to expect and the side effects hit me hard.  The second time was pretty yucky, but the side effects came on early and left fairly fast.  This time, I didn’t start feeling really bad until Saturday but I also felt pretty bad on Sunday, too – so the “worst” part is lasting longer this time around.  I’m not quite sure what causes the intensity to be different each time.  Yesterday, I was a little queasy in the morning, and then mostly just bone tired the rest of the day, BUT I managed to work all day which is a good thing.  The fatigue seems to get stronger with each round, but I’m hoping that it will fade after the first week like with rounds 1 and 2.  Maybe it has to do with my blood counts being lower than in the beginning or my body being already weakened by the previous rounds?  I think I know what to expect as I approach each round, but then what I expect ends up being a little different than what actually occurs.

Maybe the cancer is trying to show me who’s in charge?  Well, I’ve got news for it – IT is not in charge.  My God is.  :)

Do you know what the strangest side effect is?

My legs feel weightless.  They’re not exactly numb because I can feel it if I pinch myself, but when I walk, it’s as if my legs are not even there.  Odd.  This usually lasts for a week.  Dr. Daniel said it’s normal, but if it lasts longer than a week to let them know.  I wonder if this is how astronauts feel??  I’m a slightly clumsy person naturally, so this just adds a whole new level of adventure to my walking!

Happy {Belated} Double Ten Day

Source: ThinkStockPhotos.com

I’m a day late in celebrating this, but Happy Double Ten Day!

Huh?  Happy what??  What’s a Double Ten?

Well, if you had paid attention during those world history classes, you would know that October 10 is Taiwan’s National Holiday celebrating the Wuchang Uprising, which eventually led to the overthrow of the Qing Dynasty and the beginning of Taiwan’s independence when they became known as the Republic of China.  If you don’t know me very well, right about now, you may be thinking to yourself, “The chemo is definitely affecting her brain! She’s reciting random foreign history facts!!”

Well, as it turns out, it’s not quite so random.  I was born in Taiwan.  (5 points to those of you who knew that.)  Pretty cool, huh?  My dad was in the Air Force and was stationed in Taipei when little Rachel appeared.  My sisters always remind me about Double Ten day  because they were 9 and 11 when we lived there – old enough to remember the celebrations.

As an interesting side note, my sisters were also born in foreign countries – France and Germany.  And, AND, my oldest nephew, Chris, and his wife, Betty, are continuing the trend of foreign births with their oldest being born in Japan and their youngest being born in Germany!  I wonder if my future niece, Ashley, knows that after she and Matt get married she will have to leave the U.S. in order to have her children.  ha ha  :)  Love you, Ashley!

Oh, wow, I certainly started chasing rabbits, didn’t I?  Must be feeling better.  Yippee!

Anyway, Happy Belated Double Ten Day!

3 Responses to “The Strangest Part”

  1. Jim Fugate October 11, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Thanks, Diana. I think the Guinness Book of Records would like to know about all the different countries in which this lady and her relations were born!

  2. Kathy October 11, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Wow, I can still “see” the extravagant “Dragon Dances”! They were performed every year at our school (Taipei American School) and covered the entire football field. The colorful dances were such a sight to behold.

    That reminds me, have we ever told you that we used to call you our “little budda” when we lived in Taiwan? Something about the way you would sit on the floor all cute like and we would rub your little round belly for good luck! What wonderful memories! :)

    On a more serious note…Have you asked them at the cancer center if this is normal (to feel worse a bit longer each time)? It seems like it could be normal but everyone probably doesn’t respond the same way.

    Love you much

    • rachturner October 11, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

      I don’t think I remember the Little Buddha story. Too funny!! I did have a “little” belly didn’t, I? There’s no telling what else you guys did to me!! ha ha

      I have asked about feeling worse longer because it’s only been a couple of days longer. He was surprised and pleased that I was feeling as good as I was with the previous rounds – maybe this is more normal. I also had a flu shot last week (with doc’s approval), so that could be affecting it, too. I’m starting to feel better, just very tired.

Leave a Reply

