Sunday Nights

5 Oct

You know that feeling you used to get as a kid on Sunday evenings when you knew the weekend was almost over, it was time to do the homework that you delayed doing all weekend, and you knew you had to go to school in the morning?  I hated that feeling.  I couldn’t enjoy the evening because I was already dreading the morning.

That’s how I feel the night before chemo treatments.  I get distracted and start dreading the next day because I know the good days are over for a while and I’ll have to get up in the morning and go get stinkin’ chemo.  But.  BUT.  The week would end and the weekend would come around again.  It’s the same for chemo.  The bad days won’t last too long and the good days will be here again.

So which is worse – chemo or school??  Hmmm…..  I’ll have to think on that one. Just kidding!  School was much worse.  ;)

This is how I look on those mornings when Barry has to wake me up to get ready for chemo.  Except I don’t look this cute.

Source: Pinterest

I’m going to make this a short post and go relax a bit this evening before Round 3 gets started.  If you remember me in your prayers tomorrow, please also pray for the other patients who will be there getting treatment, too.  Many of them are facing struggles much greater than my own.

6 Responses to “Sunday Nights”

  1. Becky Robinson October 5, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    Definitely keeping you and all cancer patients in my prayers. Wish I could be there with you taking care of you during chemo. You are a remarkable inspiration. Love, Becky

    • rachturner October 5, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      I wish you were here, too, Becky! I’m jealous of the patients at the cancer center who get to see you when you volunteer. :) Love you.

  2. Kathy October 5, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Hmmm…Barry has to wake you up?? Imagine that another Smith Girl who sleeps like a log!! Mom and Dad sure trained us well in the sleep department. We all 3 love it, love it, love it.

    Speaking of disappointment and dread. I can remember at least 3 decades (yes, I said decades!) ago that I made a “deal” (for lack of a better word) with God. I told Him that I would put up with whatever negative thing was going on BUT I was expecting 2 really good things for every 1 I had to deal with. It was amazing how it changed my focus and helped me look for the 2 good things I was “owed”. Things being what they are right now, I’m excitedly anticipating a couple of whopper sized good things!! One of them NEEDS to be related to a fantastic cancer outcome for you and if God needs to use both of my good tokens I’ll gladly give them up for you.

    Remember to look for the “2 for 1” and thanks for being such a blessing to all of us. Love you, Kathy <3

    • rachturner October 6, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      YES! Barry has to wake me up. I think we three got an extra dose of the “I love sleep gene.”

      You are due for some MAJOR good things after what you’ve been through, and thanks for making me cry saying you you would use up both of your tokens for a good cancer outcome for me. Love you so much!

  3. Jennifer October 5, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    LOL on school being worse! I think that is a great analogy. I tell you all the time but I really do think you are so brave – I think I would try to call in sick on a chemo day!!
    Love you!
    Jennifer

    • rachturner October 6, 2011 at 8:52 am #

      That’s so funny!! Call in sick on chemo day. I might try that next time. haha I don’t feel brave – I just feel like I’m doing what I have to do. Love you LOTS!!

Leave a Reply

