Good News and Bad News

1 Oct

Well.

The day did not go quite as I had hoped.

We saw Dr. Young (the urologist) this afternoon and he reviewed the CT scan from Monday, then he called Dr. Daniel (the oncologist) to discuss their ideas and plans.

So, here’s the good news.  And it’s really good news!

The kidney appears to be responding well to treatment after just two rounds of chemo!!

Yay!!!!  We were able to see significant changes in the pre-treatment scan vs. the scan done this week.  It’s very encouraging!

But there’s always some bad news, right?

The stent is SO fond of me – and I of it – that we decided we would stay together for three more weeks.

Well, it didn’t exactly go down quite like that.  What really happened is Dr. Young felt that since I have treatment next week, he would like to get one more round of treatment in me before taking out the stent.

And this is how I looked when he told me the news:

I informed Dr. Young that I told my family that if he did not remove the stent today that I was going to hit him.  So he held out his arm and let me punch him.  Then he told me it was a weak punch.  Well, of course it was!  He’s going to need that arm to EVENTUALLY take this stent out of me – I’m not going to damage it.  ha ha

So…the plan is for me to receive chemo next week (Oct 5 & 6).  Then, on October 25, I’ll go in for an outpatient procedure where Dr. Young will remove the current stent, go in with a scope and look around (since he wasn’t able to look around the first time due to the blockage/swelling from the lymphoma) and see what’s going on in there.  He also said that there is a possibility that he might need to put in another stent at this time, but it is not likely.

He did say that he was proud of me for the way I’m handling a very difficult situation (which sounds odd coming from someone who is actually YOUNGER than I am!).  Then he said I inspire him with my attitude.  I laughed and he said, it’s true – even doctors can be inspired by their patients.  What nice things to say!!  Of course, I think he was just saying all of this to keep me from breaking down in tears in front of him because I was on…the…verge.  ha ha

Thank you all for praying me this far!  I am thrilled to be able to see with my own eyes the improvements in the kidney between then and now.  It gives me a lot of hope for what the next two treatments will do to that nasty old lymphoma!

Enjoy your weekend!  Hope your favorite football team wins! (As long as your favorite football team is Auburn!)  ha ha

3 Responses to “Good News and Bad News”

  1. Kathy October 1, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    Somehow, I can visualize you looking at the Dr. just that way! I love that adorable picture. Reminds me of the way Phil and I used to look at each other at work sometimes. We would both get so tickled and of course the customers thought it was hilarious. Wonderful memories, I’m thankful for each and every one.

    I’m sorry they couldn’t take the stint out but very glad you’re responding to the chemo. Reckon when they do remove the stint you’re going to walk around grinning so big people will wonder what’s up with you? I hope so, you’ve definately earned it!

    Love you sis, Kathy OX

    • rachturner October 1, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

      Can’t you picture that?? :) I was NOT happy, but whatcha gonna do?

      That’s good – you keep holding onto those wonderful memories. They will eventually fill the empty places in your soul.

      Love you!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beautiful Weekend « Blessings in Disguise - October 3, 2011

    […] was very good for me to read following my non-stent removal disappointment from Friday.  Maybe there’s a reason the stent shouldn’t come out that […]

Leave a Reply

