Cancer-Free Friday: Fudge-Filled Bars

30 Sep

Another really good day yesterday!  :)

How about a little chocolate to start the weekend off right?  I believe when you combine chocolate with oatmeal, the good health properties of the oatmeal cancel the negative health properties of the chocolate!  ha ha

The picture, above, is of the bars before they were baked.  I forgot to take a picture after they came to of the oven.  I think the chemo brain might be making me forget things.

Oh, who am I kidding?  I was forgetful before chemo!  :)

And for the record, I do not claim to be a professional photographer, so no laughing at my sad little pictures!

I mean it – no laughing. :)

One of our neighbors made these for us when we moved into our first house here in Chattanooga.  I’m not sure what it is about them that makes me want to eat the whole pan, especially when they’re still a little warm.  Yum!  I made them for a meeting Barry had last week with his store managers and they all loved them and wanted the recipe.  Since Fall ushers in “baking season” in my mind, I thought you guys might enjoy this recipe today, too.

You will need the following ingredients:

2 cups quick cooking oats
1½ cups all-purpose flour
1 cup packed brown sugar
¾ teaspoon salt
1 cup butter or margarine, melted
1 cup chopped pecans
1 (14 ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
1 (6 ounce) package semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 tablespoons shortening
1 cup M&Ms Chocolate Mini Baking Bits

In a bowl, combine the oats, flour, brown sugar and salt. Add butter and mix until crumbly. Stir in the pecans. Set aside 1½ cups for topping. Press remaining crumb mixture into greased 9 x 13-inch baking pan. In a saucepan, combine the milk, chocolate chips and shortening; cook and stir over low heat until chips are melted. Spread over crust; sprinkle with reserved crumb mixture. Top with M&Ms.

Bake at 350° for 20 to 25 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

Click here to download a printable version of the recipe.

I’m seeing the urologist at 2:00 this afternoon. Cross your fingers for a stent removal! :)

12 Responses to “Cancer-Free Friday: Fudge-Filled Bars”

  1. rachsmith September 30, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    Wowzers! Almost got a sugar rush just looking at this…what a fun recipe though.
    Definitely one to try. Thanks for the inspiration, and best wishes…x

    • rachturner September 30, 2011 at 10:14 am #

      It threw me for a minute when I saw your name because my maiden name is Smith. When I saw rachsmith, I did a double-take! :) Thanks for visiting and the good wishes!

  2. Becky Robinson September 30, 2011 at 6:33 am #

    Praying the stent can come out. Love,
    Becky

  3. Kara Goldsborough September 30, 2011 at 8:10 am #

    Good luck, hope all turns out well.

    • rachturner September 30, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      Thanks, Kara! Love your blog – that Caramel Nut Apple Pie is calling my name!

  4. Elizabeth September 30, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Prayers said, fingers crossed, toes too! Love you.

    • rachturner September 30, 2011 at 10:18 am #

      Thanks, Lizzie! :) Feeling optimistic about today!!

  5. Patty September 30, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Oh my gosh… I am looking at this and reading and thinking LEMON BARS! I could really go for some of your LEMON BARS! I miss the sweet treats you would make for Me. I know they were not really just for Me but I liked to think that! HA! Praying extra hard today! Good Luck and keep us posted! Love you!

    • rachturner September 30, 2011 at 10:19 am #

      LEMON BARS!! I haven’t made those in forever, but I need to. Right now! I wish I were at home so I could make some. ha ha They were JUST for you. :) Thanks for the prayers today. Pray for the doc, too. If he tells me it has to be replaced, I might hurt him. ha ha!

  6. Linda McMillen September 30, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    Fingers and toes crossed for you! Lots of prayers too <3.

  7. painterfrances September 30, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    Rachel, I hope and pray that the stent can come out this afternoon and none replaced. That will go a long way in helping you feel more comfortable. Thanks for that recipe; it looks so good. Love you.

Leave a Reply

