Just Like the Sea Glass

28 Sep

First things first. Today is my nephew’s birthday! Jackson is 18 today. (I would say his turning 18 makes me feel old, but my oldest nephew, Chris, is 32 and THAT makes me feel old. :) ) Jackson graduated high school in June and is now in college, but he also has his businesses – lawn care/snow blowing (depending on the season) and car detailing. Plus, he’s a member of the Volunteer Fire Department. I am so proud of the man he is growing up to be. Happy Birthday, Jackson! Auntie Rachel loves you very much!!

Jackson and Jennifer on Graduation Day

Yesterday was a good day, but I was pretty tired. I moved from my downstairs “cube” to an upstairs “cube” at work on Friday and Monday and I used up a little more of my energy than I’m used to. Other than that, I feel great.

Have you heard of sea glass? I hadn’t until recently when I received a beautiful lavender sea glass necklace from my sister, Jennifer, along with the following note:

Rach, This is a piece of sea glass – a piece of broken glass that was lost at sea and then battered by the ocean and sand until it became so beautiful. I thought it was symbolic of your body being broken with the cancer and the battering it is and will take with the treatments. I hope this will be a reminder of how you will get through this and come out even better than when you started – just like the sea glass. I love you, Jennifer.

Oh, yeah, I cried. Bet there are a few of you crying right now after reading it. Mom? Jeanette? Becky? You guys a little misty-eyed? Yep, I thought so.  :)

What a beautiful metaphor for this experience, and YES, I do believe I will come out of this even better than when I started.

For you have been my hope, Sovereign LORD,
my confidence since my youth. – Psalm 71:5

It’s not arrogance or an inflated air of self-confidence that makes me believe this. It’s my faith in God and what the Bible says that has me convinced I will be a better Rachel for having this experience. I don’t believe God caused this cancer, but He is allowing me to go through this experience in order for me to grow closer to Him and to fulfill His purpose for my life. Now, I’ll be truthful here. I wouldn’t have objected to an easier path AT ALL, but…since He is God and He knows best, I’m accepting this journey and doing my best to learn from the experience.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD,
“plans to prosper you and not to harm you,
plans to give you hope and a future.”  – Jeremiah 29:11

It’s really easy for me to say this during the good weeks. But It’s much harder for me to feel this way during chemo week. However, my faith is not based on feelings – it is based on a belief that God is who He says He is and does what He says He will do.

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him,
who have been called according to his purpose. – Romans 8:28

Love you all! Have a wonderful Wednesday!

2 Responses to “Just Like the Sea Glass”

  1. Becky Robinson September 28, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    Yep! I cried. This is another great post from a beautiful girl. All of you girls have such beautiful spirits. I know, you are all grown women now but you are still kids in my minds eye. Love you very much, Becky

    • rachturner September 28, 2011 at 8:31 am #

      I knew you would cry! :) Love you, too, Becky.

Leave a Reply

