Cancer-Free Friday: A Hodge Podge

23 Sep

Good news!! It’s Friday! That means tomorrow is Saturday (I’m a pretty sharp gal – ha ha) and that means college football – YAY!!! Here’s hoping Auburn gives us a WIN this week. War Eagle!!

This week’s Cancer-Free Friday is a compilation of some recent blog posts I found inspiring & encouraging, or just simply interesting or useful. I’m hoping you will enjoy them, too.

I loved this post by Holly Gerth – 3 Simple Ways to Help Anyone in Your Life. So many times, we have a friend or loved one who is hurting and we just don’t know what to do for them. Holly provides three suggestions: affirm the emotion, call out the best in the person, and encourage the next step. Visit Holly’s blog to learn more about how you can use these steps to provide support to someone you care about.

Kasey Krawiec writes about how we cannot always avoid the storms in our life and states, “…the storm was only a chapter…. not the whole story.” What a great reminder that no matter how ferocious the storm raging around us may be, it is a piece of our life – not our whole life. There were good days before the storm came and there will be good days after the storm has passed. You can read the rest of Kasey’s post here.

My sweet friend, Sarah, made an adorable (although sadly themed!) wreath last week. (I just can’t resist knocking her Vols!) I thought it was so cute, I popped over to The Picky Apple where she got the idea to see how it was done. However, I quickly realized that it would require a WHOLE lot more patience than I have to cut out all those little pieces of ribbon, loop them, and THEN affix them to the wreath form. Nope, not for me. It’s cute, though. Too bad Sarah didn’t choose orange and blue for her colors. ;)

If you are looking for Fall decorating ideas for your front porch, Home Stories A2Z brings together 22 Fall Front Porch Ideas from around the web for your parusal. Lots of great ideas!

For those of you with creative tendencies (digital or traditional) BittBox put together a Freebie Gallery where you will find lots of great hi-resolution background images, Photoshop brushes, fonts, and vector images that are all FREE to download and use in your own projects.

I know some of you are into photography. Vandalay Design posted 33 Photoshop Photo Editing Tutorials this week and it is a great resource for learning how to edit and enhance your photos. The list includes links to tutorials explaining how to touchup old, scratched photos, how to create a vintage polaroid effect with your photos, and more.

Lastly, the Pew Research Center stated that 31 percent of people who send text messages would rather text than talk. I’m in that 31 percent. I’m not a phone person. If I can’t talk to you face-to-face, I would much rather text than talk. Might be weird, but that’s how I’m wired. :) What about you – text or talk?

Oh, and I saw this photo on Pinterest and it just makes me smile. Look at that sweet thing! Hope it makes you smile, too.

Source: Pinterest

Have a wonderful weekend!!

3 Responses to “Cancer-Free Friday: A Hodge Podge”

  1. Jennifer September 23, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Rach – I am becoming scared of Cancer-free Friday’s because it makes me go off exploring and consumes my time. I still haven’t recovered from CFF Pinterest post – yikes. Glad it has been a good week for you – relatively speaking for someone going through Chemo. Love you with all my heart. WAR EAGLE!!

    Jenn

    • rachturner September 23, 2011 at 8:22 am #

      Too funny! I thought you would like the Bittbox link – he’s got some great textures that you could use in your art. Love you!!

  2. SarahKL September 23, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    I’m glad you love/hate my wreath! :) Cara from the Picky Apple actually commented on it today! How cool!

    It was so good to see you Thursday… I’ll be back soon!

Leave a Reply

