You Never Let Go

14 Sep

Today was better than yesterday. I felt pretty good most of the day, but hit a big fatigue wall late in the afternoon. Funny how that seems to come out of nowhere and just take you out! ha ha  All in all, it was a good day.

Source: thinkstockphotos.com

The first time I heard You Never Let Go by Matt Redman, I remember feeling overwhelmed at the realization that no matter how difficult our circumstances, God will never, ever let us go – that we are not alone. I stood there in church listening to the song and tears began to fill my eyes. Could this be true? I was being emotionally shaken by the often difficult to grasp concept that we will always be safe in God’s hands.

If you’re not familiar with the song, here are the lyrics. (I tried to find a video to post here for you, but his label has some strict copyright rules that don’t allow sharing.)

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
Your perfect love is casting out fear
And even when I’m caught in the middle of the storms of this life
I won’t turn back, I know you are near

I will fear no evil
For my God is with me
And if my God is with me
Whom then shall I fear
 WHOM THEN SHALL I FEAR

Oh no You never let go through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go in every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go, Lord, You never let go of me

And I can see the light that is comin’ for the heart that holds on
A glorious light beyond all compare
And there will be an end to the struggles
But until that day comes, we’ll live to know You here on the Earth

And I will fear no evil
For my God is with me
And if my God is with me
Whom then shall I fear
WHOM THEN SHALL I FEAR

Oh no You never let go through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go in every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go, Lord, You never let go of me

You keep on loving and you never let go

Oh no You never let go through the calm and through the storm
Oh no, You never let go in every high and every low
Oh no, You never let go, Lord, You never let go of me

And I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
and there will be and end to the struggles
but until that day comes
STILL I WILL PRAISE YOU
STILL I WILL PRAISE YOU

That whole song really speaks to me, especially now given the events of the last 12 months. The past year has been fraught with serious physical and emotional struggles for my side of our family.

My dad survived a widow-maker heart attack last Fall. They call it a widow-maker for a reason – most people do not survive them. By the Grace of God and some quick thinking on his and mom’s part, he is still here with us. What a gift! It was not his time – God knew that we would need him here at the head of our family for the events that were to come. Events that we could not foresee, but that God saw clearly as a part of our futures.

As I said earlier, in June, my brother-in-law passed away unexpectedly. His loss has left a literal hole in our family so big that not even one of his big, juicy, hockey-puck size homemade hamburgers could fill it. Almost three months later, I still shake my head in disbelief that he is gone from this world.

And then there is my cancer diagnosis hanging over all of us. So, yeah, tough year for sure.

What I love about this song is that it comforts me while reminding me that NO MATTER how brutally hard some of these days have been – and some days have been just plain h-a-r-d – that God is still here with us. Even though there are moments when we feel incredibly alone in our individual struggles, we are never alone. God is with us. God hasn’t let go, He hasn’t moved, and He is aware of every fear, tear, and anxious breath that has escaped our mouths. We may have moved in our effort to dodge the pain of this year or in our attempts to control circumstances ourselves, but God most certainly has not moved.

If you are facing a difficult circumstance, frightening diagnosis, or complete upheaval of life as you know it, please remember that God is right there waiting for you to reach out to Him. We might let go of Him, but He still has a firm grip on us and all the chaos that is surrounding us. You are not alone. :)

So do not fear, for I am with you;
do not be dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you and help you;
I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.
Isaiah 41:10

If you are worried, afraid, stressed, scared, or facing some uncertainty right now, I would love to pray for you. Feel free to share your prayer concern or just simply ask me to pray – you don’t have to give details if you don’t want to. I would be honored to say a prayer for you.

4 Responses to “You Never Let Go”

  1. Patty September 14, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Thank you for that reminder! God Bless you and keep you in his arms today and forever!

    • rachturner September 14, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      Today’s been a good day. :) Love ya, girl.

  2. Jennifer September 14, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    I am waiting for the choir to start singing in the background! If you give that post to your preacher, he will have his sermon for the day. What an uplifting message to read at any time in our lives but especially with all we have been through.

    I Love You!
    Jennifer

    • rachturner September 14, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

      A sermon – yeah, that’s funny. I love you too, so much!!

Leave a Reply

