Strong Enough

30 Aug

Yesterday was a very good day. Energy levels were very good. Got to spend some time with our neighbors last night at a Neighborhood Watch meeting which was really nice.  All in all, it was a good day!

It’s funny that when you have cancer everyone thinks your problems are automatically worse than their own. I can’t count the number of times I’ve heard someone dismiss their current trial/struggle by comparing it to mine and thinking theirs is less important. My battle is no more important, no more difficult, no more stressful than yours. Truthfully. Sure, my problem includes the “C” word, but still. Whatever you are dealing with right now is HUGE in your life, just like this cancer fight is in mine.

You may not be battling a physical cancer, but most of you have some difficulty in your life right now that is consuming your strength, exhausting you on a daily basis, and making you wonder if you are strong enough to get through it. Maybe it’s the loss of a husband, or father. The loss of a job and the continued frustration of searching for a new one. Chronic illness and pain that haunts you daily. Financial struggles that seem to never end. Whatever it is, we all have our own “cancer,” it just presents itself in a different way in your life than it does in mine.

If you think that you’re not strong enough to do this – and I KNOW there are days that you feel that way – let me remind you that YOU ARE STRONG ENOUGH! I have to remind myself of this regularly and Barry has to remind me of this regularly. The same is true for you. You are strong enough and I know that because I know that our God does not give us more than we can handle. In addition, we are told in 2 Corinthians 12:9 that “God’s grace is sufficient for us, for His power is made perfect in our weakness.” When we are weak, He is strong.

Whew! What a relief, huh? On those days when you are feeling physically, mentally, emotionally, or spiritually weak, relax and tell God. He’ll be strong for you and He’ll give you the strength you need to get through the day.

There’s a great song by Matthew West called Strong Enough. I am loving this song right now. Every single word of it just speaks to my heart. I hope if you are struggling with something today, that it gives you a moment of comfort and peace.

Kathy – this one is especially for you. Love you!

Lyrics

You must, You must think I’m strong
To give me what I’m going through
Well forgive me, forgive me if I’m wrong
But this looks like more than I can do
On my own

I know I’m not strong enough to be
Everything that I’m supposed to be
I give up, I’m not strong enough
Hands of mercy won’t You cover me?
Lord, right now I’m asking You to be
Strong enough, strong enough
For the both of us

Well maybe, maybe that’s the point
To reach the point of giving up
‘Cause when I’m finally, finally at rock bottom
Well that’s when I start looking up
And reaching out

I know I’m not strong enough to be
Everything that I’m supposed to be
I give up, I’m not strong enough
Hands of mercy won’t You cover me?
Lord, right now I’m asking You to be
Strong enough, strong enough
For the both of us

‘Cause I’m broken
Down to nothing
But I’m still holding on to the one thing
You are God
And You are strong when I am weak
I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength
And I don’t have to be strong enough
I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength
And I don’t have to be
Strong enough, strong enough
Oh yeah

I know I’m not strong enough to be
Everything that I’m supposed to be
I give up, I’m not strong enough
Hands of mercy won’t You cover me?
Lord, right now I’m asking You to be
Strong enough, strong enough
For the both of us

If you’re interested, here’s the story behind the song:

Strong Enough by Matthew West (The Story Behind The Song) from emicmg on Vimeo.

Be strong! And have a good day!!

2 Responses to “Strong Enough”

  1. Kathy August 30, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Have you ever thought about how maybe God gives each of us more than we can handle from time to time so that we will bring it all to Him in prayer? Sometimes it seems like that to me. I know it feels incredible when you turn it all over to Him. Every burden is lifted.

    Our challenge now is being patient, staying focused and to wait for Him to reveal His plans. His plans are always, always perfect…just not always what we want. Therein lies the difference between “wants” and “needs”. He’s always been faithful to provide for every one of my real needs. I can’t think of even one single time when my real needs were not met. He always knows how to tell the difference.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you every hour of every day. Thank you for all the thought you are putting into this blog. I know the typing part’s not a problem for you because you can type faster than most people can read! For anyone who’s never seen Rach type, it’s near printer speed!

    Love you girl, Kathy

    • rachturner August 31, 2011 at 10:39 am #

      I think that’s exactly what it is. When we come to the end of ourselves is where we will find Him. When life is great and everything is moving along smoothly, we don’t “need” Him. We get busy and tend to sit Him off to the side. It’s only when everything is stripped away and we are overwhelmed with the struggle placed in our lap that we draw closer to Him.

      You are so wise big sister. :) Love you MUCH!!

Leave a Reply

