My Addiction

26 Aug

Yesterday was fair. Had a headache most of the day and a felt queasy, too. Nothing awful, just not great. Oh, well. Can’t feel like a million bucks every day, huh?

I’m a little tired of focusing on cancer, so I thought maybe Friday’s around here could be Cancer-Free Fridays! I love the sound of that!!

Maybe I’ll introduce you to a site that I love or talk about something silly or serious (non-cancer related serious, mind you) or ask you a question (which means that you have to start commenting more! It doesn’t count if you just tell me in person or call me or email me.  Silly people. ha ha!).

Today, is going to be a serious Friday. I need to confess something to you.

I know some people might not think it’s appropriate to talk about addictions all out in the open like this, especially when you were raised Southern Baptist. Have mercy. We just don’t talk about such things. But I think it’s important to share this with you. After all, I did say I was going to keep it real on this blog.

I’m addicted to Pinterest. Huh? What did you say? What in the world is a Pinterest, you ask? It’s basically an online bulletin board where you can “pin” your favorite things AND you can look at everyone’s boards and pins, too. You’ll find inspiring quotes, beautiful photography, fashion ideas, recipes, home decor examples, home designs, gift ideas, DIY projects, and much more. The ideas and inspiration are limitless! But the addiction is very real.

Oh, I can hardly type that without laughing. It’s not really an addiction – maybe more like a mild obsession??

The site is actually magical. It can make minutes disappear! I pull up the site planning to look for just a minute to see what’s new and before I know it 15 minutes have passed! Where did the time go?? But it’s fun, it doesn’t require thinking or planning or doing, and it’s a great way to distract myself from the realities of life. That’s come in handy lately, if you know what I mean. The best part is to following boards of people you know so that you can see what they like, which is a great way to get gift ideas for friends and family, too.

To give you an idea of what the site is like, these pins are on my Food board right now. (I should have said this earlier, but if you happen to be a guy reading this, I apologize. This may – no, this will – bore you to tears.) Look at those little baby pancakes! So cute! And the Cream Cheese Cookies – definitely have to give those a try.

pinterest-food

And these are on my Wall Art board. I get all kinds of ideas for wall art for my house from here. I have a thing for birds, in case you can’t tell. :)

pinterest-wall-art

If you’re brave enough, come visit me on Pinterest. I’m warning you, though. One visit might be all it takes for you to get hooked. :)

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

15 Responses to “My Addiction”

  1. SarahKL August 26, 2011 at 6:21 am #

    Haha! Love this! Pinterest is ridiculous!! You are so right that 15 minutes just slips away! I love following “famous people’s” boards, like Sherry from Young House Love, Jen from iHeart Organizing, and others. It’s so fun to see what they’ve pinned! Love you, my friend, and I’m so glad that this fun website has given you a little happy escape lately. :)

  2. Jennifer August 26, 2011 at 7:24 am #

    Oh my GOSH – I think I feel and addiction coming too. This is going to take up some time just looking at all your stuff. It is like looking inside your mind about what you like the most!! This is great!!

    I also like cancer-free Friday’s – it’s like dress down Friday’s for your heart and soul.

    Love you with all my heart!!! Jennifer

    • rachturner August 26, 2011 at 8:39 am #

      I know! I’ve been dying for you to get on here so I could get inside your head! :) I think I sent you an invite a while back, but maybe I just thought I did. Love you back!!

  3. Jennifer August 26, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    OK – second reply – I am in serious trouble. Why didn’t you tell me about this before – I am your sister. This is the greatest thing since sliced bread.

    Jenn

    • rachturner August 26, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      Haha! I knew you would love it.

    • Kathy August 27, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

      How dare you do this to me!!! Haha! You know I can’t get addicted to a site where someone can get into my head…that would take all the fun out of messing with both of your heads! I love you both but I will not look at this site right now. I simply have to much that I have to get done today. If I were to look at this my own addictive personality will take over and it will be 15 hours later instead of 15 minutes! I will not look…I will not look…I will not look…I will not look…I will not look…I will not look…OK this is not working. I still want so bad to look. I may have to get in the car and go to the restaurant where there is no internet service to get away from my compulsive feeling of needing to look! OX Kathy

      • rachturner August 27, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

        I’m not sure that you can handle Pinterest! ha ha It might be mental overload for you. :) Given what you’re going through, though, it might be a place for you to park your brain for short periods of time and not have to think about reality. Love you so, so much, Kathy.

      • Kathy August 28, 2011 at 1:45 am #

        Been fighting the urge to look for 12 hours now and I’ve caved in! I’m hooked…I’ll start one before long. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Patty August 26, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    Love Love Love the Cancer Free Friday’s!!!! What a great idea! I hope you have a great day!!! Love you girl!

    • rachturner August 26, 2011 at 8:41 am #

      Have a great weekend, Patty. Love you lots!

  5. Dawn August 26, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    I too have the same addition which actually has become a conviction. Why is it so easy to spend hours on this site and struggle to spend minutes in God’s Word! I have discovered new recipes and great DIY gift ideas so I feel I can justify the time I spend on Pinterest! Another chance to practice self-control in my life. Happy Pinning!

    • rachturner August 26, 2011 at 8:42 am #

      Happy Pinning to you, too, Dawn! I’ll have to look for your boards.

  6. adiphene weight loss pills June 20, 2014 at 1:37 am #

    Such are the ingredients of Adiphene that its one finest selling level is
    the shortage of dangerous uncomfortable side effects.
    It’s conceivable to accomplish this objective the conventional path moreover through an equalized eating methodology and exercise.
    Glucomannan is among the most active hunger suppressants in Adiphene,
    and it works to suppress yearnings and help you handle
    your parts.

  7. best acne products June 20, 2014 at 1:42 am #

    Your acne issue is very specific to you, your everyday life and your body.
    Most natural health experts say you should drink two to three cups a day in order to get
    the maximum results. Neem leaf extract have been shown to reduce insulin requirements
    of diebetics without apparent effect on blood glucose levels.

Leave a Reply

