Getting My Morning Groove On

23 Aug

Barry came across this article on CNN about how music can ease anxiety, and even pain, in cancer patients. The article states,

“singing, playing an instrument or even just listening to music
may lessen anxiety in cancer patients
and improve their overall quality of life.”

I l-o-v-e music.  Barry has to put up with me singing all the time, in the car – even after the music stops playing – or at places like Lowe’s if I hear a song I like.  That’s what he gets for making me go to Lowe’s.  ;)

When he read this article, being the sweet husband that he is, he quickly installed a speaker in our bathroom ceiling so that I can listen to music in the mornings while I get ready for work.  Let’s all say, “awww, that is SO sweet!” because it was and he truly is.  :)  He has become my own personal DJ in the mornings playing me a variety of high-energy jazz along with the songs on my Morning Motivational playlist.

As much as I love music and believe what this article says to be true, I was amazed – AAAAHHHH-MAZED – at the difference in made in my mood and just my overall feeling of well-being each morning while I’m getting ready.  It seems like the music actually gives me energy and by the time I walk out the door, I am pumped and ready hit the road with all the other crazy Chattanooga drivers!

Some of the songs on my current playlist are a variety of fast-paced songs and others that I like a lot or that just have special meaning right now:

Mercy Me: Move (my current fav)

Mandisa: Stronger

Christina Aguilera: Fighter

Echoing Angels: Say What You Believe

Laura Story: Blessings

Steve Holy: Love Don’t Run

Rascall Flatts: I Won’t Let Go

John Waller: While I’m Waiting

Queen: We Will Rock You

Lee Ritenour’s 6 String Theory: Give Me One Reason

Lady Antebellum: I Run to You

It has really helped being able to listen to music like this while I get ready for my day.  I think Barry got the short end of this deal, though.  He has to listen to me sing my head off every morning while I’m getting ready.  Poor guy.  :)

What do you think?  Do you agree that music could have this much of an effect on your mood, to the point of being able to calm anxieties and possibly even ease pain?

Can you recommend any songs that will get me up and moving in the morning that I should add to the playlist?

8 Responses to “Getting My Morning Groove On”

  1. Susan Johnsey August 23, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Our God – Chris Tomlin

    • rachturner August 23, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

      Love that song! Love pretty much anything of his.

  2. Kathy August 27, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    I was listening to the song Blessings while doing some craft stuff the other day. Mom asked me if I listened to it every night because tears were creeping out of my eyes. I do listen to it more than just every night. I hum it at work, too. It makes me cry if I need to cry and it helps me rejoice when I need to rejoice. Music is VERY powerful. As you well know, your brain is not always our friend. Anonymous negative thoughts (ANTS) can take you to places you’d rather not go. Music and God’s word put things right back on track by refilling your brain calls with positive thoughts.

    I hummed all the way through the drilling at the implant dentists office the other day. He said I was the first patient he’d ever had to hum a french song in his chair! If not for the humming I would have had to have gas. I told him it was either that song or the Oscar Mayer song. We all laughed and then he used the rachet to tighten the screws!

    • rachturner August 27, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

      I hate that you are going through that with your teeth. Wish I could do it for you. I’m a hummer, too. I think we get it from Dad – you know how he’s humming ALL the time. I don’t think I hum when I feel bad or am anxious, though, but I can always tell when I’m feeling better because I catch myself humming.

  3. Kathy August 27, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Forgot to mention…try listening to Tina Turner singing “Rollin on the River” without “dancing” around in your car at a red light! It can’t be done.

    I do realize the song came out about the time you were born (Haha), but it’s still a great get movin’ song!

    • rachturner August 27, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

      I can’t even hear it in my head – must be a really old song – ha ha! I like Adele’s “Rolling in the Deep” right now. Have you heard it? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rYEDA3JcQqw

      • Kathy August 27, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

        Wow! I love that Adele video…makes me want to line up open glasses of water in Matt’s Yukon and turn up the amps just to watch the water vibrate in them!

        Are you serious about the Tina Turner song?
        I found a Beyonce version performed at a tribute at the Kennedy Center. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYtnNk7xCRE

      • rachturner August 28, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

        I could totally see you doing that. :)

Leave a Reply

