Monday, Monday

22 Aug

Well…whoever told me it would get easier as each day passes was RIGHT. :) The past few days have been very good ones. I can’t say I feel “normal,” but I’ve felt pretty darn good. My appetite is starting to come back and my energy levels have increased. I still start to fizzle around early afternoon, but it’s not a hard crash like I was experiencing earlier in the week.

Dr. Daniel prescribed Ativan and I am taking 1/2 of one once or twice during the day which is helping to keep the nausea under control without making me sleepy. I think when I don’t feel queasy, I have more energy, so there’s an added bonus of taking it. I still need my weekend naps, though! Took two on Saturday and one today. So nice….and I feel so refreshed afterward.  It’s amazing.

Photo Courtesy of EagleBrand.com

I was even feeling ambitious enough this afternoon to make one of our favorite desserts: Eagle Brand Creamy Banana Pudding.  I usually put a low-fat spin on this recipe by using Fat Free Sweetened Condensed Milk, Reduced Fat Nilla Wafers, and Sugar Free Pudding.  I know I don’t have to be too concerned about calories right now, but usually I do and every bit helps.

AND I cooked dinner.  I cooked, people.  This is an accomplishment when I’m feeling 100%.  Ha ha.  Well, to be precise, I stuck a few pieces of chicken on the George Foreman grill, threw two potatoes in the microwave, and dropped a couple of ears of corn in a pot of water.  Some people might not really call that cooking, but in this house, it qualifies!  I did have to shuck the corn, for pete’s sake.  ;)

I’m going to leave you today with a song that I heard for the first time last week.  If this doesn’t get you going this Monday morning, nothing will!

Move
by Mercy Me
from the album “The Generous Mr. Lovewell”


 
I’m not about to give up
Because I heard you say
There’s gonna be brighter days
There’s gonna be brighter days
I wont stop, Ill keep my head up
No, I’m not here to stay
There’s gonna be brighter days
There’s gonna be brighter days

I just might bend but wont break
As long as I can see your face

[Chorus]
When life wont play along
And right keeps going wrong
And I cant seem to find my way
I know where I am found
So I wont let it drag me down
Oh, I’ll keep dancing anyway

I’m gonna move (move)
I’m gonna move (move)
I’m gonna move

Ive got to hold ‘er steady
Keep my head in the cage
Everything is about to change
Everything is about to change

This hurt is getting heavy
But I’m not about to cave
Everything’s about to change
There’s gonna be brighter days

I just might bend but wont break
As long as I can see your face

[Chorus]

No matter what may come
Gotta move to a different drum
No matter what life brings
Gotta move gotta move to a different beat [x2]

I just might bend but wont break
As long as I can see your face

[Chorus x2]

Hope you have a wonderful Monday. Thanks for your prayers. I feel them and they are working!


4 Responses to “Monday, Monday”

  1. Marylee Kennedy August 22, 2011 at 6:14 am #

    Praying for you!!!

    • rachturner August 22, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

      Thanks, Marylee!! So excited for you about your soon-to-be retirement! :) You’ve earned it, but I know you will be greatly missed.

  2. Brenda McFarland August 22, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Rachel sweetie, I had no idea about your recent health struggles. As a survivor, I know how devastating that first encounter with the word cancer can be. When I found out I was getting an oncologist, I was wigged out for days. It sounds like you are surrounded by a great team of physicians and also lots of family and friends … Praise the Lord for that!! Please know that you will be in my prayers constantly from this day forward …. you, your family, and your doctors and nurses. Lova ya girl {{{{{BIG HUG}}}}}

    • rachturner August 23, 2011 at 11:18 am #

      Thanks so much, Brenda! It’s great to hear from you. Isn’t it strange how just the word “oncologist” can turn everything upside down in your mind?? Thank you for praying and for the Big Hug!!

Leave a Reply

