Stronger

16 Aug

This song, by Mandisa, has really been speaking to me the past few days.  I’ve heard it before, but I really “heard” it for the first time on Friday as I was driving home from work, crying my eyes out about how hard this cancer thing was turning out to be.  I know some of you are thinking, “Well, what did you expect, Rach??  It’s cancer, for heaven’s sake!”

I really don’t know what I was thinking, or if I was even thinking about it.  I think I had worked up a pretty healthy dose of denial that carried me through the past 8 or 9 weeks as we zeroed in on the diagnosis.  Denial might not be a recommended form of dealing with stress or difficulty, but it’s served me well through the years.  ha ha!

Since chemotherapy is nothing I’d ever experienced before, I didn’t know how to prepare for it.  All I knew on Friday was that I felt horrible and just wasn’t sure I would be able to endure days upon days of feeling this way.  Then this song came on the radio and, even through the tears, I felt hopeful.  I felt like things might be ok – at some point.  They weren’t going to be easy, but I could make it through this.  Not only make it, but that I might be stronger in the end!!

Stronger

Hey, heard you were up all night
Thinking about how your world ain’t right
And you wonder if things will ever get better
And you’re asking why is it always raining on you
When all you want is just a little good news
Instead of standing there stuck out in the weather

Oh, don’t hang your head
It’s gonna end
God’s right there
Even if it’s hard to see Him
I promise you that He still cares

When the waves are taking you under
Hold on just a little bit longer
He knows that this is gonna make you stronger, stronger
The pain ain’t gonna last forever
And things can only get better
Believe me
This is gonna make you stronger
Gonna make you stronger, stronger, stronger
Believe me, this is gonna make you …

Try and do the best you can
Hold on and let Him hold your hand
And go on and fall into the arms of Jesus
Oh, lift your head it’s gonna end
God’s right there
Even when you just can’t feel Him
I promise you that He still cares

‘Cause if He started this work in your life
He will be faithful to complete it
If only you believe it
He knows how much it hurts
And I’m sure that He’s gonna help you get through this

When the waves are taking you under
Hold on just a little bit longer
He knows that this is gonna make you stronger, stronger
The pain ain’t gonna last forever
In time it’s gonna get better
Believe me
This is gonna make you stronger

If you are struggling with something today – and I KNOW some of you are – whether it’s physical, emotional, or psychological, I hope that this song will give you a moment of encouragement – that you will realize you are not alone because there are people around you who love you (starting with ME!) and above all else, there is a God in heaven who adores you and has not abandoned you.

11 Responses to “Stronger”

  1. Patty August 16, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    I know…. you are saying… “SHE IS COMMENTING AGAIN???” LOL! I log on every morning before running the kids out the door just to see if you have posted. I read this… and I cried. There is a bible verse that I want to share…. “He promises to strengthen us in all our difficulties.” Isaiah 41:10 . I have to be reminded of that often. It is hard sometimes to understand why things happen the way they do but if we just give it back to God, HE will see us through. After reading everything you have written, I know your faith is strong and I know God will strengthen you! Ok… I am rambling! I Pray that Today is a better day for you and I pray that God will Heal you – Love you!

    • rachturner August 16, 2011 at 8:08 am #

      That is so sweet that you check every day! Thank you for loving and caring enough to do that. You are awesome! Love you girl!!

  2. Dawn August 16, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    I love this song! Steve has it on all of my running playlists! Her voice can help me finish strong every time!

    We continue to pray for you and your family as you endure this season! Know that God is using each step of your journey for His glory!

    Continue to shine for Him through it all!

    Love you
    Dawn

    • rachturner August 16, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Thank you for your prayers!

  3. Gayle Carter August 16, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    In our weakness He is strong…Praying for you and expecting great things. Another song that really speaks to me that comes to mind for you is the Selah song “Hold On”. You are touching hearts and lives for Him through this valley….the mountain top is just ahead!

    • rachturner August 16, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

      I hadn’t heard that one before – just listened to it – very good!

  4. Jennifer August 16, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    I have said that all along – a year from now you AND Kathy will be different people – stronger people! Remember the saying “You can’t stop the bird of sorrow from flying over your head but you don’t have to let them build a nest on top of your head.”
    Love, your big sister, Jennifer

    • rachturner August 16, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

      Forgot about the bird of sorrow – that is so funny!! Love you SO much!

  5. Kathy August 16, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    Jenn, Since you’ve got OUR back…how could Rach and I be anything but stronger. Thanks for all your love and support. Can’t wait to see you Thursday!
    Rach, I hate to think of you in tears but I have found out lately just how much we really need tears to get to the healing. When I get finished crying I turn it all back over to God and I’m good to go until something hits the “replay” button and I do it all again. God has taken care of EVERY one of my needs since Phil’s passing. Not my wants…but always my needs. I KNOW he’ll do the same for you.

    Love, your big sister, Kathy

    • rachturner August 16, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      Kathy – YOU are inspiring me to stay strong. :)

  6. Diana Hunsaker August 16, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    I just read the lyrics to a friend of mine as we were on the phone. We were both crying by the time I finished. Thanks for sharing this song and for the inspiration you give to so many people you don’t even know! Love you! Diana

Leave a Reply

