Delivering Happiness

15 Aug

I’m so happy to report that the past two days have been very good.  A few weeks ago, I might not have considered them good days, but given how awful I felt on Thursday and Friday, I’m thinking Saturday and Sunday were huge successes!

I am learning to manage the nausea, learning what to eat to avoid it and when to take the meds to keep the queasy feeling at bay.  The fatigue is ever present, but with a well-timed nap each afternoon, I found that I was able to actually get out of the house and do a couple of small, short things like go with Barry to a store and sit in the car while he went inside or take a short walk inside the mall and sit on a bench while he did his thing.  Just getting fresh air felt great.  I am also amazed at how much effort goes into getting dressed each day.  Might need to rethink and streamline that process a bit!  :)

We even managed to walk 1/2 mile Saturday morning around our neighborhood, which Dr. Daniel said would be one thing that would help me manage the fatigue.  The more active you are (even if you don’t feel like it) makes the fatigue symptoms not so bad.  I didn’t really want to believe it, but the walk did feel good and I managed to stay lightly active until around 2:00 on Saturday before crashing for a nap. I’ve learned that naps are critical, and for a girl who LOVES her sleep – this is music to my ears!!  ha ha  After taking a 1 or 2 hour nap, I actually have enough energy to get me pretty much through the rest of the day.  I’m certainly not at full speed, but just being able to do a few things like fold laundry or, hey, even hold my head up unassisted is a plus!  lol!!

We celebrated Kinsey’s 19th birthday Sunday with a delicious lunch prepared largely by my sweet mother-in-law.  I fixed the chicken; she did everything else.  So grateful for that!  It was a really great day.  Sadly, I probably wouldn’t have appreciated it for everything that it is even  just a year ago, but this situation certainly opens your eyes to the special moments and how important it is to just savor them and enjoy the time with family.  It was a good day.

Love this quote from William Arthur Ward:

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”

 This week, I’m adjusting my sails.  I know the changes are here and will continue to come.  I can’t stop them, but I have the choice to make some changes of my own so that the waves don’t overtake me.  I’m going to approach this coming week with an expectation that God will give me the strength to get through each day, because I know He will.  Hope you all are especially blessed this week in a way that is completely unexpected, but in a way that brings unique joy to your heart.  Here’s to a great week ahead!

Love you all,
Rachel

3 Responses to “Delivering Happiness”

  1. Patty August 15, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    God is good! This is good! You are AMAZING! May God wrap his loving arms around you and may you feel his warm healing powers! I LOVE YOU!

  2. Kathy August 15, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    See Rach, Dad was right…remember how we would get a scrape or cut or bump and his supportive comments were always about how it was going to feel sooo good when it quit hurting! This is much bigger than the scrapes we used to get but you are certaining making the best of it. I’m so very proud of you girl. Visualize this…I am holding your left hand and Jenn is holding your right hand. That means that when you cross your arms and hold your own shoulders she and I have our arms wrapped around you. Yes, I know that’s left handed thinking…what else would you expect out of me! Glad you are feeling better than the other day. I love you with all my heart, Kathy OX

    • rachturner August 16, 2011 at 8:10 am #

      It’s so true. I’ve felt better the past couple of days and it is remarkable how MUCH better that seems than normal (even though I don’t feel great). It’s all a matter of perspective. Love you SO much!

Leave a Reply

