Chemo Day 2

11 Aug

It feels great to have one round of chemo behind me!  Wednesdy’s treatments went well, with minimal reaction to the medicine.  I was a little anxious about possibly having an allergic reaction on day 2 because of the rashes that popped up on day 1.  The more reaction you have, the slower they have to infuse the meds because they want to make sure your heart rate and blood pressure don’t go up too much, and they also want to make sure you don’t have difficulty breathing from a swollen airway.

On Tuesday, I broke out in rashes which forced them to slow the infusion.  This was not entirely a bad thing, though.  As it turned out, the rashes were occurring at the exact locations where I have the lymphoma bumps on my skin!  Rituxan, the drug they were infusing at the time, only targets the bad cells – the cancerous cells – so we got to see actual physical evidence that the chemo was attacking the cancer. The nurses were so excited!  Very cool!!

The nurses at Chattanooga Oncology & Hematology Associates are just fabulous!  The atmosphere is very upbeat and positive and they all take an interest in each patient.  I feel very blessed to be getting my treatments there.  As I come to mind, please also pray for my doctor and the nurses at COHA. The work they are doing there is so important not only for me, but for so many other patients as well.

I feel fairly good today, a little tired, but so glad to have one round completed!  I go back September 7 & 8 for the next round.  Until then, I will work at staying strong, keeping my energy up, and enjoying each good day that comes along.

Thank you all for your encouragement, love, and concern as I begin this journey.  I am so grateful for each one of you!

4 Responses to “Chemo Day 2”

  1. Susan August 12, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Good morning Rachel & Barry!
    Prayed for you both this morning. Love keeping up with your journey through the blog. May God continue to keep you strong after each treatment. We love you both!
    Love & hugs,
    Phil & Susan

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks so much! We love you, too!

  2. Alexis August 12, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Glad to hear it is still going well! Praying for you!

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

      Thanks, Alexis! And thanks so much for your sweet card. :)

Leave a Reply

