Chemo Day 1

10 Aug

After a blessed billing office/insurance company delay, I was finally able to begin chemo treatments yesterday. Let’s all let out a big YAY!!  This has been a long time coming.  12 weeks to be exact.

Apparently the traditional protocol for non-hodgkin’s lymphoma is something called R-CHOP.  There is a new, better protocol that has been tested with good results called R-B which is what my doc wanted me to have.  The insurance company disagreed.  Seriously.  They did!  Who’s surprised?  No one, right??  Well, I can tell you who won out – my doc.  The amazing Davey Daniel!  Finally, yesterday morning, after numerous phone calls and a one-day delay, the treatment was approved.

I will receive a chemo cycle every 4 weeks, and it will be spread over a two-day period each time.  The first day will always be a longer treatment and the second day will be a shorter version.  This will go on for anywhere  from 4-6 months.  I will go for labs each Monday so that can take a look at what the chemo is doing to my blood and make any adjustments that may be necessary.  I will see the doctor every 4 weeks when I go for treatment unless I have a problem in between.

I could not be more pleased with this doctor or the chemo nurses. Truly fantastic people with such genuines hearts for their patients.  I am absolutely confident I am receiving high quality care with a heavy dose of compassion thrown in the mix.

I plan to update this blog with information about treatment and how I’m feeling for anyone who is interested.  That way you don’t have to get bombarded with all the nitty gritty details if you don’t care to know the little stuff.  I’ll still try to email the big, major news as I receive any of it – something like I’M IN TOTAL REMISSION!!! – which I hope to be able to send out in a few months….   All three of you who will probably be reading this (haha!)  are welcome to post replies so that I know you are reading!  ha ha

Love you all very much!  Thanks for taking this journey with me.
Rachel

30 Responses to “Chemo Day 1”

  1. Angela Smith August 10, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    Everything sounds good. You sound upbeat and optimistic, stay that way! We are all here for you as you go through this.

    • rachturner August 10, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

      Thanks so much, Angela. I really appreciate it and I will let you know.

  2. Liz August 10, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    we are all praying for you!
    thanks for sharing your experience with us.

    • rachturner August 10, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      Thanks for reading and praying, Liz!

  3. Patty August 10, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Girl… you are a blessing to us all and of course we want to journey down this road with you and to be there to pick you up if you fall or give you a shoulder to lean on if you get tired. You are so strong and encouraging to others. I have always thought you were so amazing! Stay strong and know that everyone is Praying for you! WE LOVE YOU!

    • rachturner August 10, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

      Patty – I wish you lived in Chattanooga!!! Love you girl.

  4. Gayle Carter August 10, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Rachel…so glad that you have finally begun you journey to remission. Praying for strength, and comfort throughout the entire process. Always here for you whenever you need anything. I know that God will be with you. You will be amazed at the lives He will put in your path ~~ those you will bless and those who will bless you along the way.
    gayle

    • rachturner August 10, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      Gayle – I have been blessed so much already. It’s truly amazing and heartwarming to know so many people care. Thank you for your prayers and concern.

  5. Swartouthill August 10, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    You know you will always have devoted readers and supporters in Germany…well, at least until next October. After that time you will have more readers and supporters in America! We love you and are never ceasing in interceding for you in prayer to our very real, loving Lord and Savior! Love, your BSB (book swap buddy)

    • rachturner August 10, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

      I cannot WAIT for you to be back in the STATES!!! Love you so much, BSB. How’s my Brodie doing?

  6. Jennifer Cooper August 10, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    You have been (and continue to be) such an inspiration to me. When I get frustrated over the minutia in life, I always think of what a great attitude you continue to have during this journey. I only wish I could “look on the sunny side of life” as much as you do! And I promise not to corner you when you come back to the office with questions upon questions. :)
    Jennifer

    • rachturner August 10, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

      Ask away – I am happy to share the details. All this medical stuff is so fascinating to me! I may not always be able to hold my head up like this, but I’m determined to do it as along as I can. A negative attitude will do nothing but make it more difficult. So, here’s to a positive outlook and the encouragement of good friends!!

  7. Julie Hughes August 10, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    Okay, just for the record no one should look that beautiful while waiting for chemo. Next time I need you in a ball cap and no make up!! You ARE beautiful- inside and out! Praying for you as you fight this thing and beat it!

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

      Julie – You crack me up! I did have a ponytail for day 2 if that makes you feel better. ha ha

  8. Grace T. August 10, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    Great idea. Blessings on you!! We care so much. Love you.

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

      Thank you, Grace. Love you very much.

  9. Megan Toms August 11, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    I’m so impressed by your outlook on everything. You made it through the first one!

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      I know, right?? One down, 3 – 5 more to go! I’m hoping for just 3 more. :)

  10. Charles and Pat Vandercook FBC Covington LA August 11, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    We have been praying and will continue to do so. Praise God from whom all blessings flow…they will flow through you to us as time goes on and He shares His blessings on your recovery..

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

      Charles & Pat – Thanks so much for your encouragement and the sweet cards! I really appreciate them.

  11. Diana Hunsaker August 11, 2011 at 1:07 am #

    Rachel, you are such an inspiration and a testament of God’s love and compassion! The first thing I do when I get on FB, is look for your posts!Praying every day for total remission and no side affects from the chemo! Hugs, Diana
    PS We are here until Monday. Please let me know if I can help in any way!

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Diana – You are so sweet and your positivity is such an encouragement to me. Glad I got to see you yesterday and get a hug.

  12. SarahKL August 11, 2011 at 2:07 am #

    Rachel – you are so so loved and are such an inspiration to everyone with your positive outlook. I’m so glad you’ve started this blog so that I can be sure to keep up with you, even when I’m not able to see you each day. Love you bunches and I’ll see you soon!

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Miss you, girl. :) Give that sweet baby a hug for me.

  13. Pam Blevins August 11, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Rachel, I have missed seeing you so much. So glad to know I can keep up with you and your progress. I am praying for your daily. Love you, Pam B.

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

      It’s so good to hear from you, Pam. Thanks for reading and praying. We miss you a lot at work.

  14. Holly Sisson August 11, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    You are such an inspiration, Rachel – and you always have been! And quite the writer too, I might add. Thanks for starting the blog so I don’t have to hound Louise and Andrea for information about you. I’ll continue to keep you in my prayers. Love, Holly

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      Thanks, Holly! You are so sweet.

  15. Donna Lemon August 11, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Hey Rachel,

    You don’t know me but Kathy Lemon is married to my husband’s Uncle Phil who passed a couple of months ago. I write to her frequently to see how she is. I was telling her that Andy, my husband, his mama just found out she has stage 3 ovarian cancer. You both are in our prayers. Its a long journey I’m sure but God will see fit that you are taken care of. My son had a classmate that went through chemo a couple years back and miraculously he is a healthy growing boy! I want to go along this journey with you and pray for you each step of the way. You take care and keep blogging!

    In Christ,
    Donna Lemon

    • rachturner August 12, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

      Thanks for commenting, Donna. Phil was my brother-in-law and we miss him so much. Kathy is such a strong person – she is my inspiration! Thank you for following along and praying – I welcome every prayer I can get. I hope your mother-in-law continues to do well.

Leave a Reply

