Can You Feel It? {A Football Recipe Round Up}

30 Aug

Take a deep breath . . . . . . . . and exhale. The waiting is over. Can you feel it in the air? The anticipation, excitement, and sometimes insanity that surrounds college football is back.

The South Carolina Gamecocks kick it off tonight – this very night! – with the Vanderbilt Commodores. I’m sorry, but who could be afraid of a Commodore? When I hear Commodore, I think of Lionel Richie and “Three Times a Lady,” not something fierce like you would expect of a football opponent. {Sorry Vandy friends. :)}

I love ALL SEC teams – with the exception of Tennessee. As hard as I try {and honestly, I’ve not tried very hard}, I just can’t love the orange and white. Rocky Top makes the hair stand up on the back of my neck, and that poor hound dog just looks well, pitiful. This Auburn girl will even pull for Bama in select games, but I just can’t muster any cheer for the old Tennessee Volunteers.

All other teams in the SEC, I love to watch play and win. And this year we are welcoming two brand new teams to the SEC: Missouri and Texas A&M! Should make for a fun season!!

In honor of the 2012 college football season, I thought we could do a Football Recipe Round Up today and share some great recipes that you could make for football parties at your home or even for tailgating.

For starters, I LOVE these Individual Seven-Layer Dips from The Girl Who Ate Everything. Are these cute or what? And talk about portable.

How about these White Chocolate Cinnamon Pretzels from Your Cup of Cake. I’m pretty sure I would be able to eat an entire batch of these things all.by.my.self.

I adore these individual portions of mac & cheese in Betty Crocker’s Mac and Beer Cheese Cups. You wouldn’t even have to follow their recipe – just make your favorite mac & cheese and bake in cupcake wrappers. Too cute!

These Easy Pepperoni Rolls from The Gunny Sack look like a breeze to make and would be very easy to transport to a football party or tailgating before a big game.

You will likely have to make multiple batches of these delicious Grilled Picnic Taco Nachos (also from Betty Crocker) which would be perfect for tailgating.

We’ll add a touch of sophistication to the menu with Noble Pig’s Mini Crab Cakes. These look like so much fun to make AND eat!

And lastly, let’s finish out with something sweet. And what could be more appropriate than Football Whoopie Pies from Latasha at The Key Ingredient.

And just so we’re clear on a few things, I need you to know that I love you.  However:

{grin}

War Eagle!! Who’s your favorite team?
♥ Rachel

4 Responses to “Can You Feel It? {A Football Recipe Round Up}”

  1. Merrile Stroud August 30, 2012 at 6:50 am #

    WARRRRRRRRRRRR EAGLE!

    • rachturner August 30, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      Merrile – Marrying you was, undoubtedly, the best decision John ever made. :)

  2. SarahKL August 30, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    Yeah yeah yeah… judge on, my friend! GOOOOOOO VOLS!!!!

    • rachturner August 30, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

      Oh, Sarah. You break my heart. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers

