Then I Took A Headache Med (Plus A Pound Cake Recipe Round-Up)

2 Aug

And all I can say is WOWZA.

My doctor prescribed a new medicine for my headaches.  It’s called Fioricet.  I’ve never taken it before and Monday, when I had a pretty good headache, I decided it was time to try it.  It contains caffeine.  Apparently, quite a bit of caffeine.  :)

Within an hour of taking it, my headache was gone and I felt like one of those wind-up toys that someone had wound tight and let go!  ha ha!!  I told Barry I thought I could run a marathon – or at least a half-marathon.  That’s some good stuff.  My productivity level went through the roof.  They might want to consider handing them out to all employees.  {grin}

I have an appointment tomorrow to see the doctor to talk about the headaches and neck pain.  Hasn’t been awful this week, but he also has me on a steroid pack and I think that is helping with whatever is going on.

Let’s do a recipe round-up!  Ok?  Does anyone like pound cake??  I love me some pound cake.  It’s probably my favorite cake in the world.

We’ll start with a fresh Key Lime Pound Cake from Southern Living.  This recipe uses a key lime glaze to give the cake a little extra oomph!

No recipe round-up is complete with one from the Pioneer Woman.  She is the ultimate authority in cooking.  How can you go wrong with all of her step-by-step photos?  I know, Paula Deen has some pretty awesome stuff.  I’m just partial to PW.  Her Perfect Pound Cake uses Sprite or 7-UP.  Mmmmmmm.

Nutella seems to be quite the rage, so it’s no surprise to find a Nutella Pound Cake from the Food Gal.  I like the taste of Nutella, but I can’t say I’m over the moon about it.  It would probably be very good in a pound cake, though, adding a nice chocolatey flavor to it.

Does anyone like blackberries?  How about a Blackberry Swirl Pound Cake from Orange Latte?  I like loaf style pound cakes.  The only problem is there never seems to be enough of it!  :)

And lastly, I loved the look of this Neapolitan Pound Cake from Culinary Concoctions by Peabody.  I wonder if Neapolitan Pound Cake with Neapolitan Ice Cream would be overkill???

And that’s our pound cake round-up for today.  Hungry yet?  Yeah, me, too.  :)

♥ Rachel

9 Responses to “Then I Took A Headache Med (Plus A Pound Cake Recipe Round-Up)”

  1. mainelyhopeful August 2, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    Well I just gained 5 lbs reading this! thanks :) I was given Fioricet for migraines way back in the late 70s when I was a teen. It always made me sick but it did get rid of the pain. Then I would have to sleep for 8-10 hours. I’m glad your side effects are “only” speedy.

  2. Carina August 2, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    Caffeine and sugar hmm can cure HA :)

  3. Carolyn Jung August 2, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    Thanks for spotlighting the Nutella pound cake. All I can say is everyone I’ve made it for has gone crazy for it. My friend has even taken to baking it for her family. And they always pounce on it. LOL

    • rachturner August 2, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

      Hi Carolyn – Thanks for stopping by. I’ll definitely have to make this one. My son-in-law LOVES Nutella.

  4. Facing Cancer (@cancer2gether) August 3, 2012 at 4:45 am #

    So many beautiful cakes . . . slice of pound cake with a caffeine jolt – that sounds like quite the afternoon coffee break! I am glad to hear it is helping with your headaches.

    Catherine
    http://www.facingcancer.ca

  5. Christina August 4, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    Oh man, look at all of these pound cake recipes! I don’t know where to start!! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers

